Peach State says: I Got This!

20121120-092510.jpg

The art of thawing a turkey I learned from a necessity to Pre-plan, Pre-pare, Pre-clean, Pre-schedule…yep! I have an issue with organization, but you know this about me and still accept and love me. So with the fridge cleaned out, in preparation of the needed space, I placed the the turkey in last night. ( For those of you getting ready to shake those proverbial fingers at me for lifting and carrying heavy items…please set you hearts at ease…I delegated the placing of the turkey to my son.) I have taken precautions this year…it will be okay… “I Got This!”

This is a 15 pound turkey…Do I have time to thaw it in the fridge? Well…

20121120-093514.jpg
I have overnight, today and tomorrow and it will be ready for a lovely Butter-Basting Thanksgiving morning. “Now this is one of my favorite memories…my mother would get up early and start the turkey so that by about 8 am we were awakened to a mixture of cinnamon rolls and Turkey. This also meant time for the chopping, slicing, mixing…I don’t know how she did it all the same day.”
Pre-planning…I will prepare several things tomorrow and place them in the fridge and then put the final touches on them Thursday. After all I want to watch some of the parades and not be chained to the kitchen. Organization down to a science…Yep! “I Got This

That memory I just mentioned reminded me to put cinnamon rolls on the grocery list. That is what I am doing today…shopping! Check back tomorrow and I will give you the menu! For now I will gather my supplies and extra hands ( coupons, store advertisements and one or more of my sons)…see I told you “I Got This!”

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in cleaning, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Awww…the thawing of the turkey. Never works out according to a chart! I bought my turkey Sunday evening, and it has been in the fridge ever since. However, it will still be frozen in the middle when I get ready to cook it, so I will have to put it in water to complete thawing. I have already bought all I need to prepare my part of the traditional TG meal. Wednesday I will cook three pans of cornbread, and 2 pecan pies. I usually do four pies, but there are more and more diabetics every year, and the price of pecans is insane, so two it is! Plus, others are making even more desserts…and a big thank you to Pinterest!

    Don’t know yet if I will chop onion and celery Wednesday evening or Thursday morning. I will boil eggs on Wednesday. That way I will have some for the giblet gravy, and some to eat for breakfast. I will cook the Turkey first thing Thursday morning, as I will need the stock for my dressing. I will also need to retrieve the parts for making the gravy; they get cooked separately. Once the turkey is done, I will put my dressing together in a huge pan. After it looks, feels and smells like it should, I will divide it into two smaller pans for cooking…reserving a little raw mixture for my Mom. She loves to be able to cook some fresh dressing a couple of days later.

    When it is all done, we pack it all up, and meet the family at my youngest daughter’s house! There will be more food than we can eat in one day, but don’t we all love the left-overs! That wasn’t really a question…ha! Turkey sandwiches, turkey soup, ham bone soup….yum! I Iove this time of year!

    Glad to hear that you are behaving about that back of yours! Your friends are paying attention, so stay out of trouble! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Carrot cake and pumpkin pies and snackies galore. But you are so right about the price of pecans. I think I will just make a chocolate chip pie. Hehe.

      • Yum! I love anything chocolate. Oh, I need to make a correction. Christmas will be at my youngest daughter’s house…TG will be at my sister’s house. I know that…DUH! And since this is about Thanksgiving, I want to tell you how thankful I am for you and your friendship!

Leave a Reply

