Peach State says: The Training Paid Off…

20121109-072536.jpg

Our traditional coffee pot died a couple of weeks ago and my hubby decided to try one of the new fangled coffee makers. Of course being the type of shopper I am…I knew where they were on sale!!! We purchased it on sale for $100 less than most retailers and then got a $50 Rebate too. I am always getting coupons for a particular store, which carries the specific coffee k-cups and will be able to save on these purchases until the company comes out with a version of My K-Cup for this machine. [My K-Cup is a refillable cup that allows you to use your own coffee instead of purchasing the disposable pods?] This modern machine allows you to choose the size and strength of your coffee and there is no leftovers. It is easy to use…But…now there are less people in the house to fix coffee! The consensus seems to think that it is difficult to fix one cup…
When we got the new Kuerig Vue700 and, once home, my 22 year old son and myself schooled ourselves on the techniques. My son knew there was more flavors available, like Hot Chocolate and Hot Cider, so he went to find them. The Training Paid Off! (Make sure what the alternatives are and their availability!)

I was on my way to TKD with my youngest when I got a call from my 22 year old. “Hey mom…Have you gone up to Bed, Bath and Beyond to get those coffee pods yet?”
I told him that due to lack of time and travel destinations I was never near one to do that. “Okay, I will go see what they have!”

20121109-075445.jpg
When I got home after TKD and a quick run by the store, for cheese and a gravy for dinner, he was beaming. “What did you buy?” He paraded the variety as he grinned he biggest toothy grin! He bought 3 Hot Chocolates (2 Milk Chocolate and 1 Dark Chocolate), a SleepyTime Tea for me and a Vanilla Latte’…Hmmm, The Training Paid Off! (If you want something that mom has not bought or provided…buy it yourself!) To bad he did not have my coupons…Now I can go get more…(snicker, snicker)

“He is really a good boy!” However, there is one minor problem! He did not buy any travel sized pods of coffee!

He made hot chocolate for me as soon as I put things down…My son smiled as we watched the thick, rich Dark Chocolate cascade into the waiting cup. It was so good! My son then had to make a Vanilla Latte’ for his daddy. My son performed the task flawlessly and even though my hubby remarked about the simplicity of the preparation I am sure I will never see my hubby make himself a cup. “I wonder if my son bought these just to have an excuse to have hot chocolate whenever he wants one…seeings how he paid for it.”

My son does love his gadgets…Because of him we have a Soda Maker, Shake Maker, Donut Maker, and an Ice Cream Maker(needs no ice or salt). He loves to create flavors and to find short cuts in the preparation of these calorie-filled-sweets. He does not like it when I experiment using less sugar or worse low-fat. However…because of our mutual love of experimenting we tried to make a mocha using the new coffee and hot chocolate pods last night. It Worked!. Not as good as my latte’s but…in a pinch it will do! I will try and remember to let you know what I find when I check out the variety for myself.

“To bad my son sees no incentive to keep his room cleaner!”. HeHe!
I think I need to research How to train a child to clean the house without being told to or paid! Any suggestions? Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Children, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My suggestion: Close the door to his room, and forget about it! By the way…I will be over soon for my mocha! LOL!

Leave a Reply

