Peach State says: Friendship is the Best Medicine

20121108-072159.jpg
The simple pleasures of friendship are truly a treasure best held on to. The bonds holding this unique group together are a woven intricately and in full balance. We are capable of holding each other up in times of distress and fear…building and motivating in times of uncertainty…drying the flowing of tears or sharing the tears…understanding and support…“Friendship is the Best Medicine!”

With everything I have going on in my personal family…as well as my own situations…I know there are situations that are weighing heavily on the hearts of my friends. Some may be the same…we are friends with similarities…but the timing may be different. One of us may go through a bad time before another. This is when we can use experiences to help another! Motherhood is rough! There are many joys with just as many if not more trials…fears…failures..scraped knees…dirty noses and well you get the picture. Joy is what we feel after the birthing pains diminish…after the child has been equipped and headed out on their own. It is okay to get tired of the clingy and constant interruption…”We have all been there!”

A dear friend told me, oh so many years ago when my children were small, “You must take time for yourself…but realize that it will not be as much time as you want!” This is when I started my Coffee Down Time! Whether it was during nap time or during the peaceful calm of the daily storm I had a cup of coffee. One cup…just for me…breathe in…sip…breathe out…sip…slow and purposeful, a slight pause in the daily grind. It was this friend who also told me the truth…
There is no such thing as time off when you are a mommy! But…a good mommy finds creative ways to stay sane. There is strength in numbers!

The revolving door of life experiences is an important part of friendship. Okay…I am old(ER) than a couple of my friends and the things I have learned I will pass down and use to help them. Likewise my fiends who are older will help me with issues I have yet to experience. Sometimes we need to hear things like…”Oh honey, don’t worry, that’s normal!” You are not alone…or in my case…weird! The balancing act of true friendship if not 50/50 but more like a constant up and down motion of a Teeter-Totter always together and always giving and taking.

Last night was a giving, on my part, and a taking on my dear friend’s part. Her heart is so heavy with the desire to do for those around her…but the daily shuffle is tiring and causing a strain. “It’s okay to let some things go…Be creative and work around the situations.” I have been there and boy…do I know the struggle. We do feel alone and helpless which can lead to a tear filled depression of sorts. The good thing about our friends is the constant hand and shoulder…helping hand up and a shoulder to cry on. No score cards are kept and no tallies…just love and friendship that ease the pain.

I cannot imagine going through my life without these people called my friends. I would be a wreck!
Okay…some would same I am a wreck anyways but that would be in fun…I know for a fact that I am a wonderful and inspiring example to those around me. “How do I know this is a true fact?” A dear friend told me!

Be a friend! Share a smile or a tear. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 8, 2012, in About me, Children, coffee, family, friends, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This friend seconds what your dear friend told you! I am so thankful for your friendship! You truly are a friend who loves at all times, as Proverbs 17:17 tells us a friend should do!

Leave a Reply

