Peach State says: The Joy in a Child’s Eyes!

20121106-072749.jpg
The rebound is captured and the race down the court begins. The ball is passed, as a flurry of varied sized bodies wave their arms, to a small undersized child. The timid and bright eyed boy pivots and shoots…the ball goes up and over the basket. The crowd sighs with a collected “Aww!”. The action continues and once again the timid boy has the ball…this time he passes and the ball is put up for a score. This timid boy had helped his team score…Wow!…The Joy in a Child’s Eyes!

Now…why the interest in this young man? Well, he is the son of a friend of mine and he plays on the same team with my youngest. My 19 year old coaches one of the two teams at the church and if I may brag for a second…he is wonderfully equipped to do this. He cheers these young children, ages 8-12, and guides them in the basic skills of basketball. Once a star player himself he has worked with our youngest for several years and now finds himself thrust into a role of coach. The parents love him and so do the many children he works with on the court. Long story short…Last Saturday, this timid young 9 year old boy, was called over to the bleachers before heading off with the teams for half-time. His father whispered something to him and then let him join the team. After half-time my 19 year old son, the coach, went to say something to the father on the sidelines that brought a huge smile across his face. My son then came to where I was sitting and told me what he said. The father had told his son that he would give him $$ when he got a basket…the son both excited and scared told my son the coach…who then instructed the team to get this timid boy the ball as often as they could. My son then told the father…I hope you have cash!

The second half started and the scoring drive was set up…down the court was a drive with points sought. Down by the basket was this timid boy and his father was telling him to turn around…get ready…(The overly tall 11 year old player, as tall as my 19 year old, reaches the basket and gives the ball to the timid boy)shoot…shoot…”aww!” Those of us cheering from the bleachers sent well wishes and encouragement of next time and good try. This timid boy never scored…

But… last night at practice teams worked on a play which calls for this bright-eyed young boy to stay at mid-court and once the other team puts the shot up he is to head to the opposite goal and wait for the ball. You know..his shots were improving with each attempt last night. This Saturday, when they play again, we may have a very rich little basketball player. Another great thing about this is the attitude of the other players. They are going out of their way to make sure this timid boy gets a chance to shoot and score. “As a mom…my heart just bursts with joy seeing this type of teamwork. As a sports fanatic…I do love a good David and Goliath game…when teamwork is emphasized and seen.”

As for my youngest…He is doing an outstanding job playing this sport. He underestimates himself and does not see what the rest of us see. He is about 5’3″ and is responsible for guarding the oversized 11 year old. I am not exaggerating…this tower of a boy must be 5’10”- 6′. The lessons my youngest has learned, while playing with my 19 year old on the court in the back yard, are being put to work. Quick response and stubbornness have given my youngest the ability to actually rebound and block this oversized boy.

All in all…I am a proud mom! I can’t wait to see how the game goes on Saturday. I will save you a seat!

Oh…It is Election Day today…if you have not voted…Go Vote! My hubby wore a tie suitable for the day…want to see?

20121106-083827.jpg

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 6, 2012, in About me, Children, family, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Between my kids, grandkids, and nieces and nephews, I have attended more than my share of games. I must say that I enjoy the kids sports much more than the college and professional sports, and not just because it’s kids playing. I just think they are way more exciting! Maybe it has as much to do with not having long commercial breaks as it does with watching the kids learn and grow individualy, and watching the team come together.

    What time is the game this Saturday? I may have to sneak away from B2B work for a while, and do what I do best in sports…be a fan! LOL! I am not good at sports, but I am an awesome fan! AND, I happen to know at least a couple of really great fellows on that team…their moms aren’t so bad either! LOL!

  2. Don’t I know that! At least there’ll be an open door at the church for those of us working on the city, so we can go potty! Hey, I went to Publix just before the B2B meeting last night, and as I came out, I heard a loud, “Hoooo!” followed up by a loud, “Hai-yai!” LOL! Then I realized it was the TKD studio! LOL!

Leave a Reply

