Peach State says: I Lost My Silver Lining!

20121012-072729.jpg

With the events of the past week weighing heavily on my, already sore, shoulders I look like I am bent over using a walker. Of course this is not how I look but boy…do I feel like it! I am trying to find something positive in this burdensome basket of negative. I was taught to Always look for the Silver Lining but… I Lost My Silver Lining!

Here is a sample of this weeks events:
My oldest son came home.
My youngest decided to cut teachers notes about behavior out of his agenda.
The clash between the older boys.
Job hunting for oldest son.
2 1/2 weeks worth of pages fell out of my youngest’s school agenda.
Conduct marks for his negative behavior at school.

I need more coffee!!!

Oh…and on top of all of these wonderful-parent-child-memory-building events I lost my voice because of allergies and my doctor pulled a MRI out of the proverbial What’s Wrong With Peach State Hat…

Did I mention I need more coffee?

Sorry…I seem to be waiting on my cabana boy to serve my coffee to me. Back to reality! I refilled my cup and said goodbye to my hubby…even took my precious princess outside for a second time… I have a few more minutes before the next wave of activity hits the fan and I put on my chauffeur hat. “I just hope I have enough gas in the car without raiding the depleted bank account!”

The dynamics between the three older boys have always been of a 2 against 1mentality. Unfortunately the oldest is the 1 the my 22 and 19 year olds are the tag-team. My oldest has made his share of mistakes and says he wants to get out of the hole he has dug for himself. “Egg-shells, thin ice…just the way things are with him.”

My youngest…Mr. ADHD…has decided to deceive his parents. Well he thinks he is…but is he in for a rude awakening. Basically he thought by taking the pages out that we would not find out about the notes from his teachers.

Everything I need as an adult I learned in Kindergarten!

Page numbers missing…changed dates…altered letters on teacher’s notes…pictures drawn over teacher’s notes…top of pages cut out of book…well, that is just a few of the things he has done this week. I have not mentioned the behavior that prompted the writing of the notes. Yep…I guess I fell off the Turnip Truck! I would scream for help…but I would probably lose what voice I do have.

So…positives from the negatives…
I know all my children are safe and secure.
My youngest was not arrested at school for his behavior…yet!
My oldest is looking for a job!
My other two sons are working.
My voice is coming back…which is a good thing seeings how I am on the trio that is singing Sunday!

My coffee Is wonderful!

Alright…so maybe I just lost sight of My Silver Lining! It is still there…I just needed to look at things from a different angle. You know how that is…don’t you? I am off to prepare for my day…hoping to minimize my talking to allow for healing. Make sure you finish you coffee (or tea) while finding your Silver Lining and Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on October 12, 2012, in About me, ADHD, Children, coffee, family, health, Home, Just Between Cousins, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I must say, you have your hands full with those boys! My mother-in-law had four boys…she was an alcoholic! Not that I’m suggesting you follow her lead, but I’m sure you feel her pain! Besides, you have already outlived her…you must be doing something right!

    That youngest one of yours reminds me of my younger brother…God help him! LOL! I know that they have the best Mom they could hope for…you all will be laughing about this one day! Oh yes, you will!

Leave a Reply

