Peach State says: My Grandmother’s Recipe!

20121008-071458.jpg

Yesterday was “Friend Day” at church and my Sunday School Class wanted to serve breakfast to those who were visiting our class. So…being the good Baptists we are…we brought breakfast casseroles and cakes…donuts and fruit bowls…juice and the ever needed paper supplies. I chose to bring one of my favorite dishes called a “Dump Cake”. I bought the ingredients and once I was home Saturday…(Let’s not talk about the extremely long and exhaustive events of Saturday…okay!), I began the search for My Grandmother’s Recipe!

It is really easy but different from the traditional in that she liked to use lots of butter! Here is her recipe:

20121008-073059.jpg
Dump Cake

Preheat oven to 300 degrees

One can of crushed pineapple
One can of cherry pie filling
One box of yellow cake mix
Two sticks of butter…melted

Sprinkle pecans over the top (optional)

(I did spray Pam on the dishes I used)

Dump in the crushed pineapple
Dump in the cherry pie filling
Spread the dry yellow cake mix over the top and…
Pour the melted butter over the top

Bake 1hour and serve warm!

Now here is the trick…I made two dishes. One large to take to church and one small to stay home.
I also altered the recipe…here it is:

2 cans crushed pineapple (slightly drained)
2 cans of cherries in heavy syrup (drained)
One yellow cake mix
2 cups of butter (unsalted and melted)

Prepared the same way as listed in My Grandmother’s Recipe except for the division of the ingredients. I used enough of the fruit to cover the bottom of the small dish and poured the rest into the larger casserole dish going to church. Then I made sure to cover the large casserole dish with the cake mix before topping the smaller dish using the same technique with the butter. I did not use nuts on the dish going to church but I did crumble some almonds on the one staying home.

The results were wonderful…and the compliments were many. I really enjoyed hearing how tasty it was from a cake “guru“. “Her cakes are wonderful and loved by many and well…she spoils us rotten!”

“The clean up was easier to without the oooey-gooey sticky cherry pie filling.”
This is a wonderful and relatively quick recipe. I hope you like it!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on October 8, 2012, in About me, Baking, Church, Food, Just Between Cousins, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

