Peach State says: Seasons…They Are Changing!

20120924-080727.jpg
Today is the day I have been waiting for…as have many of my friends.

Seasons…They Are Changing!

But you already know that!
BUT…something did happen, for the first time in my life, on Saturday. Saturday was the first official day of Fall and I was greeted, by a BFF, with “Happy Fall!” (Given the fact that I am slightly over 29ish and enjoy the change of seasons and love any reason to creatively greet people…can you believe I have never said “Happy Fall!”?) My Facebook has been lined with updates about the weather forecasts and the drop in temperatures. We hit the 40’s this morning! But before the ticker-tape parade begins we will rebound back into the mid-70’s this afternoon. “Welcome to Georgia!” I apologize for our giddy-gush over the season change…

The festive fall decorations are spreading throughout the neighborhoods with the occasional scarecrow and Halloween themed yard. Oh…and don’t forget the comfort foods…

20120924-082126.jpg
We, my family, enjoyed our first Caramel Apples of the season last night. “We have a couple left over…any takers?” I love living in north Georgia and having the Apple Orchards so close…Now if I could just plan a time to go with a couple of friends!
My hubby found some Apple Donuts yesterday…I may just have to have one of those but for now I will stand firm and strong. “But not for long…my stomach is growling just thinking about eating me of them!”

My youngest has been trying to wear his long-sleeved shirts for about a week and wanted to wear his jacket the other day when the temperatures were in the high 50’s…I just smiled and told him “NO!”. I let him wear his jacket today…Funny how he was born in the Pacific Northwest and finds that the 40’s are (how did he put it?) freezing! Maybe he will grow out of that before High School!

Well my back door is open allowing the cool crisp temperature to flow into my family room.

News Flash: No fuzzy socks on my feet!

I hope you enjoy your day and find something in the local weather to smile about. Have a great day…and oh yeah…”Happy Fall from Georgia!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on September 24, 2012, in About me, Children, friends, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

