Peach State says: Explanation of Actions To My Son or How To Embarrass Your Child!

20120911-072559.jpg

For those people who have children this scenario is familiar. The sing-song time of life when the songs of cutesie-wootsie-brightly-colored-puppets fill the daylight hours and ease the eyes closed at night. The fun part about this is to remind them later…when they are older…What? Haven’t you ever done something that really embarrassed them just because you can? If not…just wait! Your children may not be old enough.

Explanation of Actions To My Son or How To Best Embarrass Your Child!

The above pictured “Cookie Monster” was one of the adored heroes of my sons childhood. Their favorite song was “C is for Cooke!” and they would sing it to ask for a cookie. But, when this pic was adapted to fit my present lifestyle I could not resist. Who could not see that this was perfect for me…everyday! “C is for Coffee”…Right? So I saved it and used it for my lock-screen on my phone. Now the fun begins! My son needed something off my phone to show a friend of his and turned my phone on. The cheerful Cookie Monster filled the face of the phone. “What does that say?” asked his friend and instinctively my son replied, as he shook his head, C is for Cookie!. “Oh no it doesn’t!” said his friend. My son looked at me with the reddest face and glared. So being the mom that I am I broke into song…hehe! “Ah…the sweet moments of life!” My son was not moved by my musical rendition of the childhood favorite! His friend simply laughed and started telling about what his mom does to embarrass him. The best part is that the friends dad is a huge Starbucks lover and when he was with my son, a couple of days later, he started humming the catchy tune. Laughter broke out as the dad asked my son to have me show him the picture on Sunday.

It is universal and there is no way to escape the love of a parent. The silly-just-make-it-stop-moments, we as parents, store away for future torture of our children. I know you have stored some away! Share if you dare…but then again the children won’t read the comments will they?
Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on September 11, 2012, in About me, Childhood, Children, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. LOL! So funny! Let’s see…how I embarrass my kids. Well, I began embarrassing them when they were in middle school just by being alive. You know, things like breathing, existing, that sort of annoying thing. I REALLY crossed the line when I actually SPOKE to one of their friends. I mean, how ANNOYING was I?!!! One time my youngest reacted so rudely to me speaking to one of her friends, that without missing a beat, I said to her friend, “Just ignore her, she thinks she is the ONLY child her age with a mother!” That really went over like a lead balloon! I told her that if she didn’t want me making rude comments about her to her friends, she’d better not be rude to me in front of her friends! She was old enough to know better! It seemed to have sunk in…apparently she was the teachable child! LOL!

    Now, my favorite weapon is dancing! Yes, not my forte, but I have intentionally developed some funny moves, complete with funny facial expressions. Hey, the little grandkids love it! But, when one of my grown children, or my teenaged grandchild is in the front seat of the car with me…ESPECIALLY in bumper to bumper traffic, they don’t seem to have the same level of appreciation for it! Ha, ha, ha! There are so many sneaky ways to get even with them!!! Of course, they say that my natural dance moves are more embarrassing. Hmph! How dare they! I guess the sarcastic insulter doesn’t fall far from whatever a sarcastic insulter would fall from. Maybe a pedestal? I do enjoy a witty comeback!

Leave a Reply

