Peach State says: What Is Wrong With The Clocks?

20120907-072821.jpg
You know me…I am always up early! BUT…this new not-so-nice-game of waking up three times a night is not working for me. I know it can’t be me…Right? What Is Wrong With The Clocks?

The comings and goings of the various people in my family have changed a great deal recently. The new chime connected to the alarm system is reassuring so I know what door is being opened…but before the (how does my friend say it?) butt-crack-of-dawn the not so gentle door-bell chime yanks me from the last thread of sleep. Why the change?

Well:
My 19 year old has started working out with a mentor every morning. He is up about 5:00 and gone before my gentle crickets and beach sounds fade to the shuffled wake up mix from my alarm clock.

School has started…meaning up a little earlier to get hubby and my youngest the breakfast they need before heading out the door 10 minutes apart.

Hubby has to drive an hour to work and now that school is back in session…let’s just say he has to leave a bit earlier. Oh joy!

My 19 year old comes back from morning work out anywhere between 7:30-8:15 and falls back into his coma-producing bed.

My 22 year old has picked up a part-time job working with and maintaining the computer systems for a large auto dealership…on top of his varied schedule with his full-time job. “The truth is I just can’t keep up with his schedule!”

Maybe these combined changes have produced this annoying wrench to be thrown into my routine. Go to sleep between midnight and 1:00am and wake up about 5:45-6:00 without interruption…”Not any more!” It has been the most awful wrench to deal with. I can’t fall asleep easily…waking up every morning about 3:10-3:15 by rolling over and focusing on the blue numbers staring boldly at me…rolling back over and finally relaxing enough to doze off again only to find myself being blinded by the same blue color display an hour or so later…then falling into a gentle coma as the revolving door begins to turn. My mind begin to calculate how much time I have left before I must rise and begin my job as short-order cook and espresso barista. “Short-order cook indeed…here’s your cold cereal and bowl of oatmeal!”

“Couldn’t we just go back to the way things used to be?”

I blame the clocks…it is their fault! I know…I know! Clocks are my friend and only want to be there when I need them. My coffee cannot produce the energy I need to face the day so what is the world coming to? “This is not good! I am mentioning coffee in a negative manner!”

Maybe I should do what my hubby suggests…go back to bed when everyone is gone. The clock works against me everyday with the added TKD and Basketball schedules thrown into the mix. The funny thing is I am still asked about dinner menus…as I am walking out the door and driving down the road to TKD. Most nights dinner is cooked and on the table by 7:15 after getting home from TKD…but…there are a couple of nights that dinners served before 4:30 because we don’t get home until 8:20 and that is past someone’s bedtime. “Not mine…my youngest…hehe!”

All of this said and my lovely 6-shot espresso depleted…my eyes are droopy and heavy. I will go lay down for a few. I want to finish decorating my house for fall today as well as doing some general house-keeping.

Has this happened to you? How did you maintain?

Take time to enjoy your coffee and Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in About me, Children, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Peach State! I am trying to get caught up on my blog reading, and I am thrilled to be honorably mentioned…LOL! I feel your pain about the constant interruptions of sleep! I hope you are feeling better…

    • I have truly missed your comments and remarks. They brighten my day. I apologize for not calling but between your migraines and my…mystery pains and tests and migraines…it has been a bit difficult.
      I wish now that I could get an appointment with Dr. House and be diagnosed and cured within an hour. Lol!

  2. Thanks…you are so sweet! I too, hope that you get a diagnosis soon!!!

  3. It sure the heck has happended to me…great reminder that while I miss and love our 19 year old who lives a few states away, four way mayhem is easier than the five way when he was in HS, next guy in Jr High, and little guy a little guy…and hubs doing what you mentioned…commuting at least 2 hrs a day.

    IMHO…you’re doin’ too much and too well sister. I regret, now that I can look back, being so hard on myself for the feeling that I wasn’t doing much of a thing. It was so chaotic that I had no idea if I was coming or going. Eventually, it took me to a very, very dark place last fall.

    Thankfully, tho it took a year, I’m feeling and operating much better day to day.

    Decorate for fall? Not at the expense of sleep, especially if you are having migraines. I agree with hubs, if you can’t find a way to sleep thru the revolving door, you are going to have to learn to take a serious siesta and plan the java accordingly. (I’ll bet it helps manage headaches tho…ack! double sword!) If you are only getting 5 hrs, then I’d be grabbing a melatonin tab and hitting the sack. I’ve found that even if I can’t nap, forcing myself to rest w/nothing more “exciting” than a book in bed is worth it.

    I support the cold cereal and can relate…hang in there…just saw your Dr. House comment. Love that guy. So mean, but it’s all pretend IMHO. Hang in there, and take good care of yourself…not easy…but worth it…

    okay, enough lecturing…not usually my approach!

    Gentle prayers your way,

    ~ Kate

    p.s. I. Love. School.

    • What a joyous confirmation…you are the second person to mention Melatomin this week. I will have to wait until payday…but that is another topic! I have, in the past few days, gone to lay back down in bed…now I know my next project is curtains…the sun streams in and forces me to try and sleep with my covers up around my eyes…
      ” I can’t sleep if I am suffocated.”
      Maybe I should just get a slab of cheese to enjoy with all this Whine!
      Nope…medical fast until tomorrow afternoon…

      Life is easier with less people in the house and we will be losing another member soon enough…oops, that is another topic for later. Waiting for the big announcement to be made public!

      We mothers have no way of carrying the load we carry without a little help…thank you for helping carry mine. Your support is greatly appreciated!

      Peach

Leave a Reply

