Peach State says: Topsy-Turvy

20120825-071440.jpg
Pain, of one fashion or another, has struck those near and dear to me in the past few weeks. The way we deal with the pain has remained constant and true. Laughter and prayers! We offer and accept hugs of support from each other understanding the Topsy-Turvy change of life’s order and the effects it brings. This pain-filled existence limits the continuance of normal activities…for instance!

I actually left choir practice early Wednesday night. It was just to uncomfortable to sit there and participate in an activity I love, with all my heart, and be anywhere near normal.

I could not take my heating pad with me and not draw attention to myself. I could also not take my pain medication and function at full capacity much less drive after about 45 minutes. “The numbing buzz is not the best thing to experience behind the wheel!”
I have a friend whose husband recently had surgery and the pain he is experiencing during this recovery is not normal. She is worried about the intensity…as she should be! Her husband is a strong and athletic man who is accustomed to normal pain tolerance. The changes in our normal routines have changed dramatically….except for one thing! We are still there for each other…offering support and help…praying for each other and laughing with each other. “Oh and meeting each other for coffee!” Yes we did…right before choir this past Wednesday! It was a wonderful time and just what the doctor ordered!

20120825-074136.jpg

As for my test results…I will find out next week sometime. Until then I am to relax and take it easy. No lifting or exercising and no strenuous activity. Hummm! That could be fun if I was not a mom and wife who loves to have a clean house and fix home-cooked meals. Yep! My life is a bit Topsy-Turvy…Wouldn’t your life? I will finish my coffee (IV) and float away on my pain-med-induced-numb.

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 25, 2012, in About me, coffee, family, friends, health, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, pain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Goodness. Well, I wish I could say I can’t relate many times over with procedure, tests and surgery. Where we are different is that I’m a stretch the truth to the fam about how long the Dr. wants my feet up and “sorry, can’t go anywhere today so go find dad and see if he is up for it” kind of gal.

    Pain medicine is a mixed bag (pun intended) for sure. Creates stress for all…hang in there!

  2. So sorry you are still in pain. I hope they find out what’s causing it, and take care of it soon! Hope to see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

