Peach State says: This Thing I Do!

20120821-070933.jpg
The ability to string words together in an ordered manner is a talent I have long held near and dear. I have maneuvered my way out of many sticky situations, with cleverness, as I parade various adjectives and adverbs ornately amongst the facts. Many of my teachers and college professors would side-bar my writing with favorable comments.

“The ideas shared on this topic were creatively unique!”,
“The familiarity you shared with the main character gave this paper a quality unseen in previous students!”
and my favorite…”Did you read the book at all?”

😉 I was literally handed my paper as the professor in my 500 level English Lit class asked me this question. I simply smiled and asked if I could see my grade first. He turned the paper over to reveal an “A”. The professor asked again if I had read the book…and I promptly responded yes…”Most of it!” He immediately inquired about my methods. Maybe it was my love for reading or the understanding of subject matter. Maybe it was my ability to tell a story. Whatever the case…I love doing This Thing I Do!

I have found that by seeking a positive and often humorous approach in my writing I enjoy a vast range of topics. My friends and I have some of the best title concepts which lead my brain to quickly explore subject matter connected with each of the Blog Worthy titles.
I had the opportunity to write my blog last night with a little help from a dear friend, often referred to in my blogs as Mutual Cat Loving Friend, while I was at basketball practice with my youngest. We squealed and squawked with the creation of the post. Of course it may have been the fact that we had both had very hard days and really needed to release the emotions quickly rising and ready to explode with the strength of a volcanic eruption.

20120821-075623.jpg

Whether therapeutic or just a plain-old-love to write…my blog is satisfying. “I sadly watch my stats but not like I use to.” I have also found that this is another way to connect with my friends. We laugh and discuss daily topics often losing ourselves in conversation with people around us staring strangely at us. We stop and explain…”Peach State writes a blog and we are talking about something she recently wrote.” “You should check it out!” The funny thing is most people have no clue what a blog is much less how to google for one.

“Does that mean I am higher on the geekdom scale than most?”

The therapeutic writing style I use gives me the chance to share my failures and successes with my family and friends. BUT…if someone else can read what I write and use it to better their pain or situation I am all for it. I only hope the information gleaned, while not valuable to most, assist someone who may have reached the Proverbial End-of-the-Rope. After all isn’t that what writers typically want?

Speaking of end-of-the-rope…my coffee is not working well this morning in keeping my eyelids open. Well it could be the pain medication…hehe! I better stop before I fail to make sense.

What would be your reason for writing? Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in About me, Blog, coffee, friends, health, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Not sure what my reason for writing a blog would be, but I know why I don’t write a blog…to stay out of trouble! I am opinionated…whatever that means, aren’t we all? But, if I write emotionally, I will say things that shouldn’t be spoken out loud…or shouldn’t be written for others to see! I love to write poetry, songs, etc. One good thing about that is that I can express what I am feeling or experiencing in a healthy manner. It has to flow in a certain way, and everything has to fit together, so even if most of the lyrics come to me easily, I have to really think about the message I am conveying. That’s ALWAYS a good thing for me. Stop and think, and pray, pray, pray.

    I enjoy reading your blog! You have a way with words, and often I find myself relating to what you are expressing. And then again, sometimes I just like to laugh at you! LOL! Come on now, I know you laugh at me, too! We do have a lot of fun! I think part of it is staying connected to you. I appreciate your friendship…

  2. I just want to say I am all new to blogging and site-building and truly enjoyed this website. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You surely come with perfect posts. Appreciate it for sharing with us your website page.

Leave a Reply

