Peach State says: I Should Not Have Cooked The Rooster!

20120816-080402.jpg

That was a close one! I rolled over, awake for some reason, and checked my clock for the time. My eyes were immediately forced to focus. “OMG! My alarm never sounded and my phone, that was plugged into the charger on top of the clock/radio was dark.” This was not a fun way to start my morning. Fortunately I had only over slept by five minutes…”Boy that is really sad isn’t it? I can’t even oversleep right! The alarm was set last night…my soundscapes were set to softly fade five minutes before the alarm blasts it’s wake up call…the phone was placed into the charging position and buzzed with it’s connection…the tiny battery icon lit up with the charging symbol…the world disappeared as I closed my eyes.

“What went wrong?”

I removed my phone to see the following screen…
.

20120816-081936.jpg

No phone…No alarm…I Should Not Have Cooked The Rooster!

Early to bed and early to rise was the way of life in days of old but not in this house. In my house it is late to bed and early to rise. If I did not stay up late I would never see my hubby, much less spend time with him, after he come home from work. Even when there is no school or hubby is off I get up early. I guess I have an inside alarm…instinct, if you will, that for no apparent reason will not allow me to stay in bed. “I am so bummed!”
This dilemma got me to thinking about how the early civilizations woke up before alarm clocks and whistles. So…I googled the question a few minutes ago and found out.

Here is the answer I found:
In the north of England, from the Industrial Revolution onwards, there were men employed in each town to go around early in the morning and tap on people’s bedroom windows with a long willow wand. Think these men were called ‘tappers’ or some such.

This was the way in which people were woken up in time for work in the morning, before the age of the cheap alarm clock.

Then as industry changed the world tappers in some factory towns became hooters. The factory hooters would sound half an hour before morning start of work. This gave folk half an hour to get up and get out to work.

I am assuming that the “hooter” was the one in charge of blowing the horn or tooting the whistle at the factory. This answer makes sense seeings how there was not a rooster for each household set to crow at different times according to the needs of the individual houses. Sooo…back to when I woke up. I raced downstairs and followed my routine. After taking breakfast and lattes’ upstairs, along with my phone charger, I retrieved my phone and plugged it in hoping there was nothing wrong with my phone. After a few minutes on the charger I pressed the home button and a green color had replaced the ominous red bar on the battery. Turning the phone on…everything is as it should be. No weird missed calls or messages! My inner cheerleader was doing somersaults as I calmly sat, with my hubby, having my morning coffee.

My phone is now almost fully charged and I have successfully said goodbye to my hubby and school-bus-riding-12 year old. I was fixing to close the garage door when I heard the faint sounds…I leaned across the garage threshold in hopes of hearing it again…it was a rooster crowing. I chuckled to myself and said “You’re late…did you oversleep?”
I am sure if one of my sons, sleeping soundly in their beds, had heard me talking to a rooster they would have called 911.

20120816-090153.jpg
Have you ever overslept? What was the reason for oversleeping? How long did you sleep before realizing something was wrong? Share your story! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 16, 2012, in About me, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. So, who woke up the tappers and the hooters? Am I to assume there is a rooster somewhere in the scenario? I know that there was a rooster in our neighborhood during the last school year, but I haven’t heard him in a while. Maybe you cooked him too!

    I haven’t overslept in a while, which is odd. Oh yeah, that’s because I didn’t sleep for a few years. But, now I am usually getting one REM sleep per night, but not always. When I was a teenager, still in school, and working, I learned quickly that I had to set two alarms. One was bedside, the other was across the room. They were set to go off 5 minutes apart. I was complaining one day about my alarms not sounding, when my mom informed me that she saw me get up and walk across the room and turn off the second alarm that very morning. At first, I thought she was kidding, but she wasn’t. I had no recollection of it. She said that she suspected that I was still asleep when I turned it off. That’s really bad when you can turn off two different alarms in your sleep! I have also answered the phone in my sleep, had a conversation, and went back to bed…never knowing anything about it. I had a witness that time. Wonder how many times I’ve done that? With a house full of sleep walkers, and sleep talkers, it’s as crazy during the nighttime as it is during the daytime!

    The irritating part about my phone alarm is that sometimes it chooses not to alarm. I check the setting, and it is still “ON”, but it didn’t alarm. So, I still set two alarms, but not because I can’t be trusted to wake up before turning it off, but because the alarms can’t be trusted to go off! However, I am now almost always awake before the alarm needs to go off, but just in case, I always set them.

    • Sleep walkers and sleepwalkers are in my family too! Makes for a fun childhood and life as a parent. My hubby once tried to sell me a car in his sleep. I told him I did not like the color. He began snoring.

      • So funny! My hubby used to program computers in his sleep. When we hadn’t been married long, he was talking in his sleep about a ferris wheel in the bedroom. The flip side of all the amusing stories is when someone gets hurt. One night, when I was very pregnant with our first child, hubby and I were asleep in the spooning position. He begins to dream that he is in a fist fight, and he grabs the other guy around the neck, and starts punching him in the face. Only, back in the real world, he was punching me! The moment I screamed, he began waking up. It took him a few seconds to realize what he had done. It probably didn’t help that I was screaming obscenities at him…

        Some of the funniest and scariest stories are when the kids get active in their sleep! My youngest loved to come down the stairs totally asleep, and then start waking up about halfway down…not good! When my oldest daughter was a teenager, her best friend was staying with us. They were asleep in her bed one night, when I see my oldest walking toward my bedroom. After a couple of minutes, I go upstairs to check on her, and she is asleep in my bed. I ask her why she is sleeping in my bed, and she answers, “It’s a little crowded in the flute section!” LOL!

Leave a Reply

