Peach State says: Wheelchair Service

20120810-071843.jpg
Have you ever wondered what it would be like to walk into an Emergency Room, with people waiting, and be treated like royalty? I guess everyone could say they would like this experience. Wednesday night I was told, by my on-call doctor, to report to the Emergency Room. I was dropped off close to the door and walked in. My Drivers License and Insurance cards in hand I walked to the counter. The young nurse turned and greeted me…”How can I help you tonight?” “Would you like my insurance and ID now…before beginning?” I asked. She replied no and asked what had brought me in. “I have sharp pains in my back and about 2 hours ago my chest, (at this point she reached under the counter and pressed a button.), well my chest seemed to fold up and cramp. I was not painful but tight.” She told me they would be with me shortly and I walked over to a quiet corner and waited for my son. He had no sooner walked in the door and my name was called. Surprised I rose and walked over to the nurse. And there it was…”Please have a seat.” she said pointing to the wheelchair. I looked at my son and sat in the wheelchair. This was new…for me…a visit to the ER complete with Wheelchair Service!

It started like any other overcast, rainy day. The dull achy feeling had been with me all day with the exception of the stiff and painful neck and shoulders. By dinner time a headache made it presence know in the region right above my eyes. Typically I would have stayed home and popped a couple of pills and climbed in my chair BUT… it was Wednesday and I had several important tasks on my agenda. We have a important service on Sunday and my favorite song has been chosen as the choir special…I have the solo with the choir on this song. Because of the failing health of a family member part of the normal praise team would not be able to be there Sunday so Praise Team 1 was put into service again and was scheduled to sing the main special. It is a new song we were going to learn on Wednesday night after choir practice.

Just for clarification purposes: There are about 7 people who can literally go over a song two or three times and learn it. This group of singers have sung professionally and semi-professionally as well as musically educated. We have an uncanny ability to pick up a song quickly. Several of us can literally run over a song once and sing it an hour later in church.

Sooo…off I went to church! I bought my bottled water before heading into the choir room and put on my Baptist Smile. “That is the smile I wear when people ask how you are and no matter how things are you reply “Great…and you?”.” I sat in my chair that borders the soprano and alto sections and chatted with those around me trying to ignore the pesky pain that had increased. The stabbing sharp pain was isolated to my back rib cage area but was not a result of movement or breathing. I am quite familiar with those types of pain! Just before practice started I bent over to grab my bottled water and the center of my chest folded in on itself. A slight twinge of pain mixed with a tightness took a few minutes to recover from. I guess I lost my Baptist Smile because and dear friend sitting a few chairs over was looking at me with a concerned look on her face. “Oh it’s okay…just a cramp!” I mouthed. She shook her head and the music started. By the end of practice the hot pokers in my back could not be ignored. I texted my hubby and he suggested (firmly) that I call the doctor or go to the ER.

My dear friend and Minister of Music walked by and saw ER on my phone and asked me about it. ” Does someone at your home need to go to the ER?” I smiled and said “No I Do!” He repeated the question as if I did not understand him the first time and I simply stopped and held his gaze and said..”I need to go to the ER.” The concern swept me off my feet as he asked why and then hastily shook his head in disbelief that I had come to church in the first place. I was then ordered to go. I got the number to the church doctor, I believe she is a PA or NP, and told her what was going on. She advised me to call my doctor and go home and take a Bayer Aspirin just in case. Long story somewhat shorter…my doctor recommended I go to the ER ASAP!

Now back to the Wheelchair I floated through doors quickly and placed in a room where the EKG monitors were placed on my chest and vitals taken. My blood pressure, which is always normal, was high. “I wonder why?” My son had my phone and I warned him to turn off the volume. It was a good thing because the onslaught of buzzing concern began rushing in like water rushing from a broken dam. My dear friend, who had witnessed the cramp was getting info and passing it along to others to keep them updated. Another friend who works closely with the hospital I went to was texting in for updates and offering help. I wanted a Starbucks but alas…Denied! Hehe…just an inside joke.

Back into the room swept the doctor and said he ordered a chest x-ray and blood work. Now, instead of thinking I was having heart problems, I began running the various scenarios of blood clots and cancer. The tears began to flow as my phone buzzed and a rerun off NCIS played on the wall mounted television in the corner of the examination room. My son clicked the the little screen and sent the update. He then called hubby and gave him the news. “Keep me posted…if there is anything bad…(I could hear a shakiness in his voice.) anything call me and I will be there!”

Blood was drawn and drawn again. Here is some pain medication. I will be right back and take you to x-ray. A Wheelchair appeared at the end of the bed and I was unplugged from all the monitors. Once again I was floating through the back halls of this bustling medical facility. By this time I was fighting tears and running the words of a song mixed with prayers silently over and over in my head. I followed instructions and was placed back into the Wheelchair and returned to my room and hooked back up to the monitors. Here is where the waiting began…in popped the doctor and this is what he said.

EKG…good, Blood work…good, Chest x-ray…good= mystery pain!

Well he did not say mystery pain but they had ruled out heart problem. He asked if I had fallen or lifted anything heavy and I replied not lately. Good thing he did not ask me about a week and half ago. He continued to tell me to contact my doctor and bring him up to speed on the pain and my visit to the ER. “The nurse will be right in with your paperwork and prescription for a pain medication.” My nurse came into the room along with my trusty Wheelchair. The exit process began and within 40 minutes I was in the car headed home. I arrived at the ER at 8:53 pm and was leaving the hospital parking lot at 1:10 am. “Could this even be considered an Emergency Room visit…they are usually longer!”

The pain is much better today than yesterday…which is why I did not write yesterday. I will take Aleve only today at least that is my hope. No lifting anything of substance and limited activity…doctor’s orders!

I thought about the last time I was in a Wheelchair and it was when I was going home with my now 19 year old after he was born.” I guess I said the right thing when I walked into the Emergency Room and was given the royal treatment. All in all it was a pleasant experience,,,except for the bed but that is another story.

What was your last visit to the ER like? Do you remember the last time or were in a Wheelchair? Let me know! Have a great day!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 10, 2012, in About me, Church, family, health, Just Between Cousins, pain, social media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

