Peach State says: Soap Box Thoughts

20120807-080251.jpg
With flustered heart and shaky hands I debate the intent of certain Facebook updates. I cannot find the conservative root in the thought on the page as I read the status again. Is this person, considered a close relationship, attacking people like me with these photos and words or does this person see this post in a different light? I don’t know! “It made me want to scream and press the de-friend button.”

I have found myself perusing my page daily and not liking some of the ideals and lifestyle updates.

“Am I getting to be of the mindset that today’s crazy youth have no clue what truth is in the world?”

I know that differences are needed…Lord knows I am different! (insert laughter here!) But, my concern is the subject matter on my page should reflect my general beliefs and certain things just don’t belong there. I try to be tolerant of the grey areas and overlook the post as I scroll to the next update. I remind myself that those close to me only see my posts and comments on their status’ and find relief. I consider posting the opposite concepts and ideologies to throw a wrench in their page….but, I am not that type of person. You know, as well as I do, that our friends typically share the same general lifestyle beliefs.

Politics comes to mind…I am conservative as are those close to me! I will post about voting…but will not flood the page with who I am voting for. I will urge my Facebook Friends to remember to vote. They have the right to decide for themselves…BUT…please don’t shove your anti-conservative mindset down my throat with your status updates. “Did I say that out loud?”
Maybe I should just relax and drink the rest of my coffee and enjoy my wonderful breakfast of peanut butter crackers.

“Please let me state, for the record, that I am not as square as it may sound! I love my country and I have strong core beliefs. I enjoy laughing and have a unique and sometimes weird sense of humor…alright…sometimes may need to be constantly. Thus, I have friends who are the same way…but our core values and beliefs are the same. I do not aggressively seek out controversy and conflict.

One moment while I wipe the itty-bitty beads of perspiration from my poor brow….phew! I feel so much better! So what should I do? Should I let it go or pick up the proverbial glove of challenge? I could always go with the Sports Rule: 3 Strikes you’re out!. What do you think? Please let me know and have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in About me, faith, family, friends, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings, social media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

