Peach State says: Quick and Easy Summer Salsa Recipe

20120803-073027.jpg
The thought of combining tomatoes and peaches made my stomach churn and skin crawl. There was no way these two wonderfully scrumptious fruits would taste good together! “Boy…was I wrong!” I know you will agree when you taste this Quick and Easy Summer Salsa Recipe!

My recipe started with a Pork loin in the crock-pot yesterday morning. It cooked all day and was fall-off-the-fork-tender. I served Rice Pilaf and Peas with the Pork. Before leaving for TKD with the youngest I prepared this new tasty Summer Salsa using the peaches my hubby brought home. My youngest did not seem thrilled at this combination of ingredients. “Do you have to ruin the salsa by putting the peaches in the mix?” he said. I told him to give it a chance because he would really like it and if he did not that would be a good thing. “More for the rest of the family….hehe!”

20120803-074406.jpg
Sorry…this is a pic of half of the Pork-loin.

20120803-074521.jpg
Living dangerously with Rice Pilaf!

20120803-074622.jpg
And this is the wonderful Summer Salsa or Peach Salsa!

It was so Quick and Easy… let me just give you the recipe.

Summer Salsa:

2 Medium to Large Peaches…diced
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp chopped cilantro
1 large tomato…chopped
1 medium onion…(I used a bunch of green onions…they needed eating!)
1 chopped banana pepper…( it could have used another one but I only had one!)

Here is how I mixed it…
I placed the chopped peaches into a bowl and added the cilantro, olive oil and balsamic vinegar and tossed the ingredients together.
Cutting the tomatoes and onion into smaller pieces I placed them in my handy-dandy chopper/food processor for just a blending…you want them chopped not minced. I then chopped the pepper by hand and added it to the peaches and stirred in the tomato and onion mixture.

I tasted…and added a dash more balsamic vinegar for kick. I served it over the pork-loin and rice. The flavor was invigorating as the sweet met the salty.

I was so proud of myself! As you know this is way outside the norm of my cooking. My 19 year old though I had lost my mind while my hubby was to busy eating to voice his opinion. “That was really great…what was that sweet stuff?”. I laughed and told my hubby and he, with eye-brow raised, said “Wow! Really? I never would have thought about a peach salsa!” My soon-to-be 12year old did ask for seconds…he said he would not have dessert.

Please realize that I am one of those people who do not like chunky Spaghetti Sauce…plain is fine. The expensive dishes served in restaurants do not appeal to me and my Plain-Jane palate. Of course…others may not find my taste in cuisine enjoyable…but I am just a Southern Girl with basic taste buds.

FYI: My 19 year old finished the leftovers. I guess it was good…he is my picky eater.

I hope you try this recipe…if you do please let me know what you think. Until then…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 3, 2012, in About me, Children, cooking, family, Food, Home, Just Between Cousins, pictures, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

