Peach State says: The Weather Tease

20120802-072646.jpg
The moment I stepped outside, on my way to choir practice, the humid heaviness enveloped me. Being a fan of stormy weather I instinctively looked up to see a few spotty clouds wisping lazily across the sky. I got into the car and drove up the hill and turned into the connecting subdivision and headed to the main road. The trees cleared and I saw it…a dark ominous presence in the form of a rain cloud was right over where I was going. I had only one thought…I need to beat the rain!
When I arrived at church the darkness was stretching it’s threat across the sky. The slight thundering rumble with silent soft flashes of lightning excited my senses. Yet, as I walked out after practice, Not one dropnothing…It was The Weather Tease!

Later, about 11:40, I went to let my Precious Princess out for her nightly duty. I heard the rumble of thunder and waited. A soft glow lit up the night sky and showed me another system was almost overhead. I was doing the dance of joy, internally of course, at the thought of falling asleep to the storm. Crawling in bed with an anticipative ear…I waited…and waited! Absolutely nothing! It just fizzled and like before was such a tease. There is a chance of a stray thunderstorm this afternoon and tonight…Stray? Did the thunderstorm get lost? My only hope may lie in tomorrow’s forecast…but we all know that could change. The only thing constant about the forecast is the heat, humidity and The Weather Tease!

How is your weather? Do you love stormy weather? Let me know. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yes, I too was hoping for rain last night. I even opened the window up to the safety latches, hoping to hear the raindrops falling! I mean, really…if it’s the sky is going to rumble with thunder, and light up with lightning bolts, IT SHOULD RAIN! I’m sayin’!

    This morning I went out back to sprinkle some mosquito killer, and there is evidence that a small amount of rain fell at some point. It was too wet to be dew, but not wet enough to account for all that sky drama last night! Now, not only do I have to wait one hour (the amount of time it takes to safely walk on the ground after treating it with mosquito repellant) to take grandkids outside to play, but I also have to wait until the ground dries. It may be too hot by then, depending on where the shade is, and isn’t.

    I just want it cool down about a dozen degrees or so. That would be good for me. Oh, and a cold winter to kill all the fleas and mosquitos. Oh, and a million dollars. Okay, I’m done. Have a great day!

    • I hate to be the bearer of bad tidings…but the Farmer’s Almanac said this coming winter will be wet and mild…That is not what the doctor ordered. I want some cold so I can wear my winter clothes and Christmas Sweaters.

  2. I hate for you to be the bearer of bad news…stay away from Farmer’s Almanac! Ha, ha!

Leave a Reply

