Peach State says: Dawn’s Early Noise!

20120727-071931.jpg
We each have those cheerful morning sounds that begin as the sun creeps up chasing the darkness away. The parade of vehicles moving up and down the road, carrying people into a route of traffic and slug like movements, before reaching various destinations and places of employment. The occasional siren and large truck cast their unique sounds into the mix only to fade as they move farther down the set routes. The songs of the early birds greeting the sun…singing at the top of their tiny little lungs. All of these and more are Dawn’s Early Noise!

Yesterday, however, the world was calm and still as I moved through my set path. Into the kitchen and straight to the coffee pot. My second nature I-can-do-it-with-my-eyes-closed routine was well underway as my Precious Princess came slowly into view. I ceased what I was doing and walked to the front door to let her out. I was then bombarded with the incredible sound of a cornfield. It was a loud, screechy call of the wild giving the hearer the feeling of being in an Alfred Hitchcock movie. The only thing missing was the cornfield and the ground covered by birds. I looked closer and saw more crows than I would like to see in the trees across the street. “I must confess that the presence of more than one crow gives me the willies and the movie “The Birds” did scare the daylights out of me!” The moments, like sap moving down the outside of a tree, passed slowly as the dark birds cawed and crowed. I did not care to know what they were saying but, from the sound of it they were a little put-out that the sun had shown up. Once back in the door…safe and sound…the fingernail-scraping continued. Slowly the other birds joined the morning wake-up call and the crows moved to another location.

This morning was back to normal with the fragile chirps and whistles from various types of birds. There were no dark shadows plaguing the trees and the volume was kinder and gentler on my waking ears. I am ready to finish my coffee and start my day filled with meeting teachers and a 6th grade schedule Walk Through and Welcome! Yep…really looking forward to the traffic jam and parking nightmare for this activity. “You would think that the County would have figured out there was a deficiency and would have added a few more parking spots.” Oh well! It has been this way since my first child was there…

I hope you are able to greet the day quietly. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 27, 2012, in About me, coffee, Home, Just Between Cousins, movies, musings, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the school parking. It has always been that way, and always will be. I never went to school in Cherokee County, but my younger siblings did, my children did, and my grandchildren and nieces and nephews did and still do. That’s just one of those things they don’t intend to do anything about.

    Love to hear the birds singing in the morning! When my now four year old granddaughter was a baby, and they were staying here, I would get her after she woke up, and take her out on the front porch to listen to the birds sing, and watch cars go by. I’m sure she doesn’t remember it, but it’s a sweet memory for me!

Leave a Reply

