Peach State says: I Bettered the Coffee Master!

20120724-073909.jpg
The end of the month run to Starbucks is prompted by the arrival of my long awaited $$$$…The check arrives and I dash to the bank hoping to reach the drive-thru window before they close. “Thank you postal delivery person for the lateness of my mail!” Success! Next stop is the local Starbucks which is on my way to TKD. I have been frequenting this specific Starbucks since moving into the area 12 years ago. There are smiles and welcomes as I walk in reminiscent of Norm walking into Cheers. “NORM!” There is a line so I peruse the shelves looking at the clearance and accessories. It is at this point I meet the Coffee Master!

CM: “How can I help you today? You seem to be lost…I can help…See, as she points to the title on her apron, I am a Coffee Master.”
Me: “I would like to have this ground please?” as I hand her my pound of Espresso Beans.
CM: “OOO…A nice rich blend for your daily coffee!”
Me: “No…it is for my espresso maker…Could you please grind it using the notch right above Espresso Fine?”
CM: “Are you sure you’re not using this as regular coffee? The grounds need to be fine for espresso.”
Me: “Yes thank you…my espresso maker spits at me if the grind is to fine.”
CM: “Well if you insist! Then in an obnoxious-nose-in-the-air-tone…I have been a Starbucks drinker for 20 years and I was in LA with Starbucks…before this area even knew about espresso.”

The guys behind the counter cringed and eyes began to roll. “Make her stop” and “Not again!” could be read on the facial expressions.

Me: “That is a long time…I started drinking Starbucks and loved it from the first sip about 26 years ago in Seattle.”

A snicker came from the cashier.

CM: “Did you know that you can sign up for the Starbucks reward program and earn free coffees?”
Me: I smiled and held up my free coffee card I received for my last 15 purchases. ( I have another card coming after one more purchase!) “I do in fact already have the gold card…thank you!”
CM: Don’t you love how economical the cost of the program is?”
Me: “I did not have to pay a thing…I was sent the original black card in the original pilot program and then it was grandfathered into the gold card program.”
Barrister: “I think there was a pilot program for the stockholders.”
CM: “Oh!”

I was given a nod from the barrister along with a twinkle and a smile. “Peach…You want your usual?”

Me: “No thanks”…and I began to give him my special…extra shot…free espresso order.
CM: “You realize that if you buy one more pound you get a coffee free.”
Me: “Yes thank you but, I wanted a Venti (large) and not a Tall (small).”
CM: “Well today you can get what ever size you would like with the purchase of two pounds.”

No twisting of any arms with that offer! Free Starbucks…count me in!

Me: “That’s wonderful!” as I grabbed another pound of beans…and gave my order to the almost rolling-on-the-floor-barrister.

The Coffee Master came to ring me up at the register and said…”I don’t think I have ever met someone who was more connected to Starbucks than I was.” I smiled and graciously said “I am just a coffee lover like you!” I went to pick up my Free Coffee and was met with an emotional high five…”Thank you for putting her in her place!” I felt kinda bad about that and it must have shown on my face. The barrister continued…”All day, everyday, it’s how connected she is and who she is in Starbucks.” I smiled and said…”I am a coffee lover and she is an employee…she is more connected!” I left having, in their eyes, Bettered the Coffee Master!

Life Lesson #5: There is someone who is always better than you are!

So…for a split second I was that person, in someone’s eyes, who was better at something than someone else. What a rarity! The funny thing was my youngest and his remark as we left…”I thought you knew everyone in this Starbucks!” I took this time to teach him about employee turnovers and even though I do know quite a few employees there will always be someone new.
Off to TKD with my Free Starbucks in hand.

Have you ever had someone who comes across as “All-That”? How did you respond to their attitude? I would love to hear your stories! Have a great day!

Peach State

20120724-085028.jpg

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 24, 2012, in About me, coffee, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know people who think their way is the ONLY way to do things, and according to one in particular, everyone else is a dumb beepity, beep-beep, beep! This person is related to me, and he is quite capable and smart. And though, often right, he doesn’t recognize when he is wrong, or when there are several paths to the same result, or that it is okay to have different opinions. He can be a blast when he is in a good mood, otherwise he can be a big pain. He is my uncle, but we aren’t too far apart in age. We grew up close, and I love him dearly. His attitude coupled with a sometimes uncontrollable temper makes it hard to be around him sometimes, so I often avoid him. I have learned not to argue with him. If he is in one of his “moods”, I just ignore him. If I happen to get into a conversation with him, and he starts with his nonsense, I don’t let his comments offend me, but I do stick to my convictions.

    I have come to understand first, not to take that stuff personally. Secondly, there is a reason things are important to us. I ask, why does this person so desperately need to be recognized as the best. But, you know how God is…He has me examine myself in that way, as well. Do I feel the need to be a know-it-all, to toot my horn, etc, and why? Yes, I think I sometimes do. I think, sometimes we all do that in some way. It seems to stem from some sort of insecurity. I know, sometimes I feel that people don’t take me seriously, so maybe I push when that happens. That would be defensive. Others are on the offense, and don’t want to give anyone a chance to make them feel small.

    I have often said that it is not in my nature to respond certain ways, but I find that as I continue to encounter certain behaviors, and pray more about how I respond to people, that God is changing my nature…not saying that is an easy task, but GOD CAN DO ANYTHING! Ha, ha! I think sometimes people just need to feel important, and maybe we should just let them BE important in whatever area it is that they feel confident in. But, that is not to say that that is the answer to every situation…just sometimes. I figure there is a reason God is teaching me these things…and it has to do with my attitude, not the other person’s attitude. That’s one way I know He is an up-close and personal God. He knows me better than I know myself! And yet, He loves me! “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” Eph. 2: 8,9.

Leave a Reply

