Peach State says: Summer Kitchen Part 2

20120717-133653.jpg
I just took it out of the oven!!! The aroma spilled out into the kitchen as I moved the Summer crop filled pie out of my oven. I can’t wait to share this amazing recipe with you! So as promised…Here it is…A taste from my Summer Kitchen Part 2.

Let’s call it a Cheesy Tomato Pie:
ingredients:
3 large tomatoes…peeled, seeded, and sliced
1tsp salt (I used Light Salt)
1 refrigerator pie shell
4 slices of bacon
3 thinly sliced onions
1 cup of sharp cheddar cheese (lower fat cheese can be used)
1 cup of mayonnaise (light mayo can be used)
1/4 tsp pepper
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (cheese of choice)
2 Tbsp breadcrumbs (Ritz Crackers)

Pre-Heat oven to 350 degrees…

Place seeded tomato slices on paper towels and pat moisture off the slices…use half the salt and sprinkle on top of the slices to draw out moisture for about 30 minutes.

20120717-135110.jpg

Cook your four slices of bacon…(I used Lower Sodium Precooked Bacon that I zapped in the microwave)

20120717-135738.jpg

Place the pie crust in the deep dish pie pan and bake until lightly brown.
While it is baking slice the onions and sauté in bacon drippings or favorite oil. (I used a Light Virgin Olive Oil)

20120717-140229.jpg

20120717-140257.jpg
Place the sautéed onions in the pie crust

20120717-141225.jpg
Place the tomato slices on top of the onion

20120717-141329.jpg
Mix the 1 cup of cheese and 1cup of mayonnaise together with the remaining salt and the pepper then spread over the tomato.

20120717-141728.jpg

20120717-141747.jpg
I used a light mayonnaise with a 2% milk cheese.

20120717-142641.jpg

20120717-142657.jpg

Combine the breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese and sprinkle over the top of the pie.
( I used 5 Reduced Fat Ritz Crackers and Mozzarella mixed with Sharp Cheddar Cheese and tossed in the crumbled bacon.

20120717-143015.jpg

20120717-143029.jpg

Bake till brown.

20120717-143245.jpg
I cut a slice to show you the results…and well I only took one bite!

20120717-143354.jpg
I sent pictures to my friend who shared the recipe with me yesterday…she mentioned she would have to come by and taste mine…and how she was going to use my altered recipe. You will want to try this recipe…It is wonderful!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Baking, cooking, family, gardening, Home, Just Between Cousins, pictures, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am so amazed and jealous of your tomato slices. Having to peel and seed them, mine were quite mutilated. You will definitely have to step me through that…in person…in your kitchen! Ha, ha! Only, I’m serious…

  2. I had two small tomatoes, and I butchered them as well! So, I figure the problem is technique…

  3. Still gonna need help…or at least watch somebody do it correctly!

Leave a Reply

