Peach State says: The Early Morning View

20120714-074048.jpg
There is a hazy wet blanket laid over my house this morning. The droplets will slowly begin their trek down the screen as evaporation, from the traditional southern summer sun, will take care of the rest. This dampness alters my perception as I try to check for early morning walkers before letting my unleashed beast (my precious princess) go out for her first duties of the day. I know it will be a muggy, humid day and sigh at The Early Morning View!

The heaviness in the air whacks me in the face as I slowly open the door for the semi-panicked shadow. She races out the door before I have time to sound the all clear. Relieved she visits every leaf hanging low under the weight of the morning dew. She makes her way back to the stairs and shakes then begins her slow sloth-like climb. [She is an old girl of 13 and the five front steps are better than the 16 steps off the back deck! ;)]

20120714-075924.jpg
My precious princess retrieves her treat and continues on her morning routine. Into the dinning room she goes to the lifted blind and peers out the window. She stands and snorts and tried to look between the blinds…she could see nothing. Giving up she returned to the kitchen where I was preparing breakfast for hubby and the oversized cups of espresso.

After a short time upstairs with hubby I head back to my haven to write. I glance toward the windows in my family room and see the moisture is beginning to vacate the small squares of the screen.

20120714-081036.jpg
I will need to dress cool today and hope that everywhere I find myself there is moving air. I don’t need air conditioning…just moving air! Otherwise I am afraid my face will resemble the screens as the non-dew moisture rolls from my forehead. [Note to self…do not wear liquid foundation for the outing this afternoon!] “That would not be a pretty sight!”

I am almost finished with my first Venti skinny vanilla latte’ of the day and I have plenty to do on my list of scheduled chores. I only hope the sticky moisture disappears quickly…I do love looking out the window as the world passes by. “Well maybe not the entire world…but my little corner!” Take a moment a glance at your window…enjoy…The Early Morning View! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in About me, coffee, Home, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So happy to hear that you are a responible pet owner, and do not allow your “unchained beast” to dovour the walkers as they pass by! I haven’t been out of bed long…day ten of yucky!

    I began looking from my office window (where I was sleeping on my futon) because I heard voices. Yay! It was the young man from next door, who hubby agreed to let work on my car! As I came downstairs, I looked at the storm door, but couldn’t look through it because of all the thick layer condensation! I opened it just in time to see my car leaving my driveway. I’m so excited that repairs have begun! Sitting here with all the quietness inside the house, the sounds from outside make me feel as though I am in the rain forest! I asked hubby what are some of the creatures making those noises besides frogs, crickets, and katydids. He looked at me like I was from Mars. Then I realized that he didn’t hear them. I should have known. Even with my partially stopped up ears, I can hear them!

    The view from the windows is better. I always open the curtains, pull the blinds halfway up, and partially open the blinds so as to deflect any sunlight that might otherwise hurt my eyes, or trigger a migraine. It is very green out there today! I will have to enjoy it from inside the house. The only escape I will have is if my eyes get worse, and I have to go to urgent care. Looks like I may have pink eye…and hubby was sure that his was allergic pink eye! Thanks hubby, I could repay you by sharing this never-ending virus with you!

    I enjoy reading your blogs…they are a highlight of my day! Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

