Peach State says: A Little Bit of Everything

20120712-073409.jpg
There is nothing quite like the company of good friends to take you from the routine-run-of-the-mill-day-to-day activities and transport you to a place of uncontrolled silliness. “Well not uncontrolled… We were practicing our special music and polishing the harmonic blends…” This mixture of a fast-paced-giggle-fest and singing thrills me to the core. “I am at home!” The only thing that could have made it any better would have been the presence of coffee in my hand…but alas…time constraints prohibited the preparation of my Heavenly Brew! There were many different topics which had ties to family, children, life, music, church….well the list goes on. Last night was a renewal of sorts and a loving warmth spread to A Little Bit of Everything important to me.

Please do not think I want to be the center of attention. I was merely the social butterfly fluttering about the different personalities. My friends at church seem to fit neatly in the different areas of my life. Many overlap and we use these connections to build each other up when life interrupts.

Topics covered last night:
Diet
Children
TKD
Family
Sickness
Outreach to the Seniors
Music
Movies
Coffee
Lunch
Death of a pet yesterday
Stupid things our kids do
Funny things our kids do
Moving
House repairs and painting
Did I say music…
Weather

Well there was more…but maybe you get the idea. The special thing about my friends is that we wear so many hats and have the ability to relate and help each other in every facet of our intricate existence. “Okay, those of you that may see yourself, in any way, just relax…and remember the laughter shared and the pats on the back…and let it ease the struggles you may come across today.” Oh…except for the one who went to whack me in the head with a microphone! You know who you are…LOL!

My weight loss accountability friend came in last night and grilled me over my caloric intake. Mmm…grilled! “Sorry I grabbed an apple…my stomach is beginning to growl.” I was able to say I have lost weight…over a pound a day. “As of this morning I have lost four pounds since starting this diet on Monday.”

One of my BFFs (the one married to my BFF minister of music) was home with sickies. I so missed her but what can I say…”BTDT”

I have told you before about the Peas in a Pod group of friends …well most were present and accounted for last night. There are many topics of conversation weaving in and out, when this group is together, and just about every topic on the above list was discussed. This is the group that has given me the nickname “Trouble” which is not a very fitting name…if I do say so myself. I have never done anything to merit this personality stamp…except for that one time and they don’t know about that. Hehe! The shoulders of comfort and strength, we share in this group, are held up and supported by the love and joy as our friendship grows. Even when we do not share our deepest pain…we know and understand and are there for each other.

I need coffee…especially when talking about this group!

A friendly spunky spirit came back to choir last night. She works with the Children’s Ministry and we worked together during Vacation Bible School. We have many common life factors starting with my home town. Her mom worked with my husband…her family went to church where my brother was Minister of Music…all in my hometown and now we have connected. She always shares her warmth in her smile and even her frown. “Her frown is not on her face long…she is just tooo….spunky and it is contagious. We talk about her love of photography and her traveling hubby, who is back in town, and her recent bout with sick children. She wants to get together and do lunch…as long as salads are served I will be fine. Mmmm!…salads.

Don’t laugh…I am really trying to be good and watch what I eat. Everything is listed and counted on that My Fitness Pal app and I need to maintain the levels. Those unseen calories add up so quickly.

The creaking floors are sounding above my head as the rest of the family begin to start their day. Work lies ahead of them along with a tune-up for the 22 year old’s truck and on-the-job-training for the 19 year old. TKD for the youngest later this afternoon and …

Crap!

Tonight for dinner we will have something….good! At least my hubby works until 8 and will get home about 9 tonight. I have a few hours to plan dinner. I do need to do a little cleaning so maybe I will do that before leaving for lunch. You know the dusting and vacuuming and laundry…giggle, giggle…my last load is in the washer already. I have been busy this morning while writing this.

Well the entire family is up and the day is in full swing. I have multi-tasked too much this morning and I need to close. I cannot write with my youngest in the room. I will move on to another activity…maybe the dusting…and try to fit everything in today. I hope you can find time to do A Little Bit of Everything in you day. Take a moment to think about those special people in your life and the areas they touch…then smile and continue knowing they probably thought about you too! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 12, 2012, in About me, Church, coffee, exercise, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, social media and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lots of special people in my life… I am blessed! Thanks for the phone call today. It gets lonely being sick for several days. But, talking on the phone is the next best thing to being there! Sorry you had all that coughing, snortin’ and snottin’ in your ear!

    So…”Trouble” isn’t your given name???!!! Who knew?

    Sorry to hear that your dear friend is sick. She is so sweet, and dare I say…WAY TOO BUSY to be sick. I pray she gets well quickly!

    Who had a pet pass away? That is so sad. Our pets are also very special friends and family members.

Leave a Reply

