Peach State says: The New Diet…There’s An App For That!

20120710-074047.jpg

My, just turned 22 year old, son has struggled with his weight for a while now. When I began to lose my weight he was uninspired. I knew that one day he would decide, for himself, to lose the weight. That day is here!. He came home about two weeks ago and told us he was going back to TKD. “We were close to this instructor and he had moved his business back into the area.” He talked with the instructor and his wife, a nutritionist, and decided to lose the weight. “We will do it together.” his instructor said. He came home on Saturday with a plan and I decided to diet with him. Then he showed me something on his phone! The New Diet! There’s An App For That!

My son was all excited as he showed this app to me…It is call My Fitness Pal.
It records and tracks all your weight loss and caloric intake along with carbs and sugars and allows you to motivate others as they motivate you.

20120710-075125.jpg

You send a friend request and you can send encouragement or get-back-in-line messages to each other. This really is a plus for my “Techno-geek” son.

So…I started yesterday…and plugged in the food I ate and the abundance of water. I had added two of my friends, one of which was starting her diet back up, in hope of some accountability. “Okay…I needed to get my butt kicked at times!” There is a tab for exercises that gives you a Pre-set list of different degrees of exercises and how many calories are burned. You click on the correct Pre-set and the app calculates everything…even adjusting the amount of calories you need to intake for the day. “I must admit…I started with 1000 calories per day and have received a message each day stating that I did not reach my goal…not enough calories.” :-(. Should I be bummed or just lower the calories I eat a day? That is the question!

I have not weighed this morning because the scales are in my son’s room…I need to figure out the difference in weight between his scales and mine so I can weigh first thing every morning. So far, as of last night, I have lost about 2 pounds since Sunday and almost 5 since getting back from vacation.

Woop…Woop…Woop!

There is a discrepancy between the two scales and my son’s scale is a much better friend to me than my scales. “A girl must always choose her friends wisely!” A list of foods came home last night with my son…Needless to say there were some things on this list that do not appeal to my palate. Picky eaters get to eat the same thing over and over. I was surprised to see toast on the list but, there was no mention of butter or jam on the toast. Hmmm?

I will finish my yummy Venti-skinny-vanilla-latte’ and plan the meals for the rest of the week. I will discuss these meals with the nutritionist tonight while my youngest is in TKD class. I want to get back into a certain pair of jeans and a certain dress…but if I can stick with this and start walking, consistently, I would have to buy some new clothes that are smaller!

Shopping!

Check this app out! It keeps me honest! Let me know if you have used this or another weight-loss app. If you want to lose weight…let’s do it together…The New Diet…There’s An App For That! Have a great day!

Peach State

Posted on July 10, 2012, in About me, coffee, Diet, exercise, family, Food, health, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hope you meet your goals! Is there a chart for how many calories are burned per box of tissues used just blowing your nose? Cause I’m sure I’ve burned quite a few with this activity! Ugh!

Leave a Reply

