Peach State says: Back Home to Normal

20120705-071506.jpg
We gathered all we had brought and bought and filled every inch of unused space before climbing back in the car for our trip home. Driving out to the main road I snapped a shot of the gentle river, still swollen from the rain storm on Monday, as it flowed on it’s quiet pace. We were headed south and Back Home to Normal.

We had roamed up and down streets filled with shops along side others who searched for an escape from normal. We enjoyed the quietness of a flowing river in the cool shaded canopy of trees. Reality cut into our dream and we headed home. The drive was pleasant until we hit the Georgia State Line and a billowing and dark sky. We thought we might escape the threat of rain…NOPE!…The lightning strikes filled the road ahead as the thunder echoed it’s welcoming boom! The buckets of rain beat hard against the windshield decreasing the view of the road. “What lines? I don’t see any lines marking the lanes!”.

We called ahead and had our son, who stayed home, to pull hubby’s car out of the garage so we could pull in and unpack. “I think the concept of being that wet all over was an experience we’d had enough off after a day and a half of amusement park rides. The mass piling of bags filled with left-over food and goodies, clothes both clean and dirty, zip-lock bags filled with medicine and toiletries were piled in the dinning room. “Oh goody for me…now I have more cleaning to do!”

Physically drained the proverbial dinner bell was being rung…”What’s for dinner?” I began the daunting job of mom again and reached into the cabinet for my chef’s hat. Trying to sort and store the unpacked bags while feeding the starving multitudes was a task I struggled with. I finally gave up and focused on dinner holding the dream of sitting in my chair with my feet up.

After dinner and the trip-recap…after the laughter and shared stories…after the homemade ice-cream on Apple Pie…I faced facts and went to bed! “It was almost 11:00pm.” I knew that normal was going to smack me in the face early this morning. Sure ‘nough I rose and headed straight back into the routine…mmm! COFFEE or LATTE’… It was wonderful to have my daily companion once again at my side.

I have a day of unpacking ahead of me…but I also have the ability to have more espresso,lattes, coffee! I will get this task done as quickly as I can…after all I am Back Home to Normal!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on July 5, 2012, in About me, Children, cleaning, coffee, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks…I still feel very yucky…

Leave a Reply

