Peach State says: It’s Finally Here!

20120630-074854.jpg
The packing of the family car…”Boy does that hold memories.” There were 6 of us and we were taught the “Art of Packing” for that extended beach vacation. We packed linens and groceries…clothes and grill…we were not packing for a vacation but moving. Those were the good old days before there was a chain grocery store and a grill that stayed at our home away from home. Those methods of placing and stacking have come in handy before and will come in handy today. It’s Finally Here!.

There are only a couple of things on my list of things to do today…

Pack mine and hubby’s clothes and toiletries
Buy a case of bottled water
Oh and Pack the car!

I am fortunate to have two strong backs today for this important task…I think I zigged when I should have zagged last night.

#Pack the pain meds

I packed a few grocery items…pop tarts, popcorn, instant oatmeal, snack cakes and paper plates, paper bowls, plastic spoons and forks…”You expect me to wash dishes or run a dishwasher while I am on vacation!” I also packed some laundry detergent and softener sheets…yeah I know! You can quit laughing! I will wash a load or two so we will not have to take as many clothes.

#Pack some garbage bags for the paper products and snack wrappers…

Wow…it is a little after 8 AM and in less than 9 hours we will be on the road. “No! It is not going to take that long to pack…my hubby had to work today but is getting off a little early.” I will use my time wisely today and rest this wicked twinge in my get-along. [Translation: Pain in my lower hip.] Don’t forget to tell me about your vacation with family and friends… And don’t forget to check out my pics! This time tomorrow I will be waking up in the mountains over looking a river. It’s Finally Here…and I can hardly wait! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 30, 2012, in About me, Children, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So, you say you got a hitch in yur giddy-up? I hope the pain disappears, and fast! Hey, do you have room for some of my laundry, as well? Ha, ha….just had to tease you about doing laundry during your vacation! Just so you know, I know that isn’t a picture of YOUR family! Looks like they all twisted their necks watching that little girl pick up that ginormous suitcase! Hope she didn’t get a hitch in her giddy-up too!

    But, on a serious note…I hope you and your family have a wonderful time on your much anticipated vacation! I am praying for your safety as you travel and go about your adventures! I will miss you tomorrow, and can’t wait to hear all about your vacation when you return!

    • Laundry…I have boys with me to do that! Hehe
      I will try to post each day. I will be missing you to but…enjoying my time with family. Keep those prayers of safety coming.
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

