Peach State says: Mr. Sandman Plays Whack-A-Mole

20120629-073334.jpg
Finally in bed and as I close my eyes the events of the day parade through my mind. The techno color floats, the bands, the vicious and in-your-face clowns all reminding me of the ever changing landscape I call my family. Where are you Mr. Sandman? I only ask for a small release from the hectic day…he answers (insert sneaky giggle) “Not tonight!” Mr. Sandman Plays Whack-A-Mole!

20120629-074106.jpg
Over and over, events raced through my sleep. They popped in and out as I fully relived each trying episode. “What happened to the calm, relaxing pace of dreaming?” I toss and turn hoping to sink into a peaceful slumber…Whack! Whack! I can’t even close my eyes without cleaning or resolving issues that bubble out of the molten center of the earth.

The alarm sounds and I rise to fulfill the duties of the morning. I anticipate the first sensations of my warming companion. Needless to say…I’m Sleepy! At least I feel like the drowsy little dwarf who could not keep his eyes open.

20120629-075221.jpg
I reach for my Heavenly Brew, in dazed fashion, fighting the urge to close these sleep filled eyes. I have toooo much to do today!

To-Do List:
Wash the last load of clothes
Pack the clothes
Pack the few groceries for trip
Can the pickles
Take care of 2 issues for one of my sons
Create something from nothing….translation: cook dinner!

But…the good news is I do have a few…just a few!…minutes before my day really begins it’s frantic hustle and bustle. “Can you say Power Nap?” Please do not judge me in my time of weakness! You know me and how I thrive in the “revolving door lifestyle” of being a mom.
I know I am not alone in this dreadful scenario…How do you cope with the lack of sleep? How do you muster the energy needed to face the fun-filled, activity-packed day after being Whacked all night? “Don’t worry…if I find the answer you will be the first to know!” Have a (YAWN!) great day!

Peach State

Posted on June 29, 2012, in About me, cleaning, coffee, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am still laughing from the title of this blog! The best way ever to describe a sleepless night! I hear a song in it! Ha, ha! Thankfully, my years of sleepless nights, one after the other, have passed. I do still occasionally have a totally sleepless night. How do I cope with it? It depends on what the next day holds! Mostly, I’d say I don’t deal very well at all, being sleepy all day long, unless I get a chance to nap, which is rare. However, there are those occasions that offer me a nap in the early hours, and somehow, I have a lot of energy for the remainder of the day! That is always a nice surprise.

    My biggest sleep issue now is that I don’t sleep long enough. But, at least I am getting one REM sleep cycle through most nights! I am always up and down throughout the night, but as long as I can get right back to sleep, it’s all good!

    Funny that you should post this on this particular morning. I slept pretty well last night, but was up way too early. I laid back down for a while, but couldn’t get back to sleep, so I surrendered, waving the white flag, which really is a tissue since my stuffed up head was part of the problem.

    Without going into details, I will say that my head in now less stuffy, and I have done my Bible study, and finished breakfast, so I am ready to get on with the day. I will have to drink just a little more half-caff, though…

    • As I finish my coffee and head back for a second dose I smile. See! I am not alone… I did close my eyes but 20 minutes later no sleep. My mind was still singing songs and going over ingredients for the pickles. I am off and will try and check in soon.
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

