Peach State says: Easy Cobbler…Easy Yum!

20120626-073515.jpg

I was fixing dinner about two weeks ago when my dad called…the first thing he said was “Do you like cobbler?” I chuckled and said yes… “Do you make cobbler?” I told him it was never convenient to make and never turned out the way I wanted it to… He told me to grab a pencil and paper and you may want to do the same for an Easy Cobbler…Easy Yum!

“You Ready?”

1 stick of butter
1 cup of self-rising flour
1 cup of sugar
1 cup of milk
2 tablespoons of vanilla
About 4 cups of sweetened fruit

Prepare your fruit…slices or bite size, peaches or berries and sweeten
Take the butter and slice it in the bottom of a baking dish and place it in the oven on 350 degrees till sizzling. While the butter is in the oven mix the self-rising flour and sugar together then add the milk and stir well. (check the butter) When the butter begins to sizzle take it out of the oven. Add the vanilla to the sugar and flour mixture and pour over the butter…pour the fruit on top. Bake for 40 minutes.

This is absolutely the best and easiest Cobbler Recipe I have ever tried. I have used it four times now, with all the fresh fruit in season…peaches, blackberries, and raspberries. I combined the peaches and blackberries last night and my family loved it. “I wonder if this recipe could be placed in the freezer!” This cobbler is wonderful alone or with ice cream.

Well there you have it “Easy Cobbler…Easy Yum!” I hope you have the chance to try this recipe. I will be submitting this recipe to our new cookbook at church! Let me know what you think. Have a “Peachy” great day!

Peach State

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Baking, cooking, family, Food, Home, Just Between Cousins, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So, just sweeten fruit by taste? And how much vanilla? Cobbler is good, but I often have trouble finding good fresh peaches or berries. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

