Peach State says: But I Don’t Really Like Lemonade! Part One

20120622-071935.jpg

Ever have one of those days…I know!…stupid question. We all have those days where everything just goes downhill…faster than a speeding bullet! I just wanted your average run to the mill day but Life was not going to let me. When life gives you lemons…make lemonade! But I Don’t Really Like Lemonade!

Here is just a peek at my day yesterday. It started out normal…if you don’t count the waking up early due to a nagging-all-night-will-not-go-away-cough from a Summer Cold. Only one of my sons had to work yesterday and he began to get ready about 10:30am. My youngest has been bitten by the sleep bug and does not rise from his dream-filled-peaceful-sleep until 11:00 am the past few mornings. [back to the story] So the day was running it’s set course of varied departures and schedules. “The world is as it should be…for this home!”

My youngest missed breakfast and ate the cereal bar that replaced his bowl of cereal in the table. I sent him outside to play and he just sat on the steps. I told him to come in when he was hungry. “Who knew he had never heard that and did not understand that meant in about 45 minutes to and hour!” He just sat there looking like he was the last human in existence. The proverbial lemons were starting to fall from the sky. He walked in, with his shoulders raised almost equal to his ears, and ate something all the while looking as if he was trying to balance the world n his back. I decided to keep him home from TKD with that non-to-favorable attitude. His temperament spirals out of control all day. The day was turning to evening as I looked at the clock and saw it was 5:45 pm.

My 19 year old son plays softball on a church league and prepared to leave. Within 40 minutes of his departure I got a phone call from my working son…”Mom have you seen my brother?…he will not answer his phone!” I told him about the ball game and asked, in true loving mother style, if he was on his way home from work. “No! My brakes gave out and I am sitting in the auto-parts store parking lot.” I convinced him that I could help and I would bring the tools he needed. “Remember…these are the two sons that replaced the brakes n this truck before!” I gathered the jack and the tire-iron along with the attachments in a slender tool box and placed them in the car. Off I went, mom to the rescue. I drove down the road, just under the radar, and reached my destination in no time. The tire was removed and upon closer observation it was not the brakes…it was the lack of a bolt. “Of course the bolt holds the brake pad against the shiny disk…”. I don’t know the name of that part…I am just a mom! My 19 year old showed up and told us about the home run he hit before he left…and tensions rose…”This is not about a game but my truck!” bellowed from my 21 year old. Long story short…the store did not have the bolt and the boys have just left to run to the local Ford Store to get the part and try and fix the brakes before my 21 year old needs to go to work.

The 21 year old had taken a watch cleaner, a large bulky machine, to be repaired and it was brought home last night. Yep! It works so now those three watches can be fixed and returned to the customers. They went to clean one of the watches last night, after I had gone to bed and were given a shock when the machine decided to spark as they turned it on. If I had know this I would probably dream about fires all night instead of coughing all night.

I know you probably are laughing at the insignificance of my lemon-filled day but these inconveniences all occurred while the unsatisfactory-behavior continued spewing from my 11 year old as well as just not feeling like myself. I have taken something for the cold this morning and the effects are kicking in. I can hardly keep my eyes open…as soon as I hear something about the brakes I will let you know.

I guess I will drink the proverbial lemonade and be glad it is not mud, I will sit back and close my eyes until the youngest comes down for breakfast and/or the boys need my help. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 22, 2012, in About me, Children, family, health, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I hope you get some rest and feel better, and that today goes much better for you and for your boys! Congrats to your slugger on the home run! By the way, I love lemonade, but it gives me terrible heartburn.

  2. I wish to show appreciation to you for bailing me out of this particular scenario. Because of browsing through the the web and getting things that were not productive, I thought my life was well over. Living without the presence of strategies to the issues you’ve fixed as a result of your entire review is a serious case, as well as those that might have negatively damaged my career if I had not encountered your site. Your good ability and kindness in maneuvering all things was vital. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not encountered such a point like this. It’s possible to now look forward to my future. Thanks so much for your high quality and amazing help. I won’t think twice to propose the website to any individual who requires direction on this area.

    • I write about things that happen to my family or how I see life as we interact with it. I am glad you found something that spoke to you. I appreciate your kinds words. Come back soon.
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

