Peach State says: Bored? Dinner Time Experimentation

20120621-073224.jpg
There is nothing wrong with a little experimentation in cooking…it leads to great recipes and opens the floods gates to creativity. A little bit of this and a dash of that, stir in a pinch or two of these spices and “BAM!” a new recipe is formed. The above pictured item is one of my new favorite items for my kitchen. It is a Manual Food Processor from Pampered Chef! No plugs and incredibly easy to use…even my boys use it. One evening I was planning dinner and wanted something different. My youngest was just sitting there watching a movie…so I, being the mom I am, said Bored? Dinner Time Experimentation!. He perked up when he hear experimentation. “Don’t all boys?”

We headed to the kitchen and I began pulling things out onto the counter…including my Manual Food Processor. I will now give you the recipe for a great side-dish.

Layered Broccoli and Potato Quiche’
2 Cups of broccoli florets
1/2 of large onion
3-4 eggs (I used 3) mixed with a touch of milk
1 cup of grated cheese
6 slices of cooked bacon ( I used a lower sodium bacon)
5 diced potatoes

I started the preparation by dicing 5 potatoes and cooking the bacon. I then began cutting the broccoli into smaller pieces to place in the Manual Food Processor with the onion. (the onion should be in about 4-5 pieces) and chop until desired blending is acquired.

20120621-075627.jpg
I let my youngest do this while I combined the eggs and dash of milk.

20120621-075732.jpg
I grated the cheese (sharp cheddar was the choice of the night) and placed it into a bowl with the broccoli and onion and eggs and mixed together.

20120621-080103.jpg
I placed the potatoes in the greased 9×9 baking dish and crumbled the cooled bacon on top.

20120621-080550.jpg
I added a touch more milk to the broccoli mixture and poured it over the bacon and potatoes.

20120621-080831.jpg
“My son was so excited about the next part…he took the picture while I made sure liquid was getting to the potatoes.”

20120621-081028.jpg

I placed it into the microwave and cooked it for about 12 minutes…or until the potatoes were done. I grated a little more cheese on top for color and served with Chicken. It was a hit! “I think I will use this recipe in our church’s cookbook.”

I have made my fresh Spaghetti Sauce and some Salsa with this marvelous kitchen wonder along with chopping some ice cream toppings. My boys love using it for the ice cream toppings! We had fun and my youngest has been asking to use it again…”I think we will experiment some today!”
I hope you like this recipe…and please share some of your favorites with me! It is summer and well…even parents get tired of the same old thing. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in About me, Children, cooking, Diet, family, Food, Home, Just Between Cousins, parenting, pictures, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Get out of the city! This sounds soooooo yummy! You have quite the helper there! I may have to borrow him some day! I don’t cook potatoes very often because they run up hubby’s blood sugar, but I will definitely be cooking this one eventually!

Leave a Reply

