Peach State says: My Second Cup of Coffee!

20120616-074904.jpg
Coffee drinkers unite! Coffee is just like Lays Potato Chips…You can never drink just one! Waking up, taking a few moments to yourself, spending time with friends, and/or still not awake are all quality reasons for that second cup of coffee. Mmm…My Second Cup of Coffee!

I sit here, this quiet Saturday morning, and steadily sip on my oversized 20oz cup filled with, yes…you guessed it, espresso! A steaming rich collection of vanilla and the tiniest bit of non-fat milk mixed with bold espresso. I know what you may be thinking…”How many shots of espresso does she drink?” I confess I nap, sometimes, and sleep fairly well at night. I was born this way…to drink coffee that is. Coffee is in my blood! “That is a good blog title!”

20120616-080428.jpg

During the summer months, or at least the days there is no school, I enjoy sitting with my hubby in his office. I fix his coffee and breakfast and wake his royal highness out of his sweet slumber. We converge on the office for our mutual wake up session. A little light conversation and laughter together to start the day. All the while with our coffee, the ever vigilant companion. This morning we watched three Rascal Flatts videos instead of the news. “What a wonderful change!”

20120616-081519.jpg

It is a well know fact…at least in my extended family…that major topics of conversation and questions regarding schedules and money are not brought up until the Second Cup! We take our time and enjoy the small things in life…quietly! “Sorry…for a moment I thought I was on Fantasy Island!” The word “quietly” is a real stinker.

Hubby leaves for his day at work and I settle back and give thought to my day. There are a few things on the agenda for today but nothing major. The boys, the 21 and 19 year olds, will have their jobs and I will be here with the 11 year old. “He seems content with his job…annoying and to question everything!” It is still and quiet in the house right now…except for the soothing snores from my Precious Princess. I am finished with this cup and will refill shortly…

20120616-082930.jpg
I would like to finish my book today but will definitely require My Second Cup of Coffee! Maybe I will just stretch out for a few minutes before the Carousel of Life begins it’s daily up and down, spinning motion.

I hope you are able to relax today…and take a little time for you! Whether it is coffee or tea…enjoy your break! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in About me, coffee, Diet, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, pictures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I grew up on coffee. It is not a habit, but a way of life. As a child, I was allowed morning coffee at a young age…guess we weren’t so worried about caffeine back then! Most mornings when I woke up my parents were up, the kitchen was warm and there would already be neighbors sharing a cup and a conversation. Usually centered around the crops(I grew up on a ranch)and prices of cotton.

    When I left for college, I took my trusty mug and filled it up on the way to my early morning classes. And now…I am up before anyone else for a hot cup and some peace and quiet.
    I am excited this morning because I splurged yesterday and bought a box of Starbucks K-cups for my Keurig. Rich dark coffee…so worth the price!
    Have a wonderful Sunday.

    • Kindred spirits …Great upbringing …I enjoyed my cup this morning while my nails dried. And my second cup was enjoyed with friends. I will be heading home soon to celebrate my hubby’s day. Have a wonderful Sunday.
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

