Peach State says: It is Time for Coffee and Vacation Planning!

20120609-072328.jpg
Eyes open…check
Breathing…check
Coffee in hand…check

It has been an exhausting week of schedule altering activity. I am able to sit down and actually put my feet up without finalizing any lesson plans or cutting out small, intricate pieces for artsy activities and games. My faithful companion and I have missed each other this past week…[No Food or Drinks, except water, are allowed in the building!] …and the small amount of quality time in the morning was just not enough. It Is Time For Coffee and Vacation Planning!

I have missed being able to finish my latte’ every morning…which may explain why I felt like I was dragging a bit. “I usually have a regular cup of coffee and my heavily dosed latte’ richly laced with over the top espresso shots.” [translation…I have enough Espresso in my latte’ for 3 individual drinks!] I love coffee and will not apologize for being able to sleep at night.

I have started drinking iced coffee, in the afternoons, now that the temperatures have begun their uphill climb. The Lazy Days of Summer have finally arrived and I will be more than content to sit on my porch swing…alright! It is a glider… and sip away the day while enjoying my favorite author. I love my sweet tea…but my rich and creamy delicacy, poured gently over soft crushed iced, just spoils me better. “Who doesn’t want to be spoiled!”

Now I will have more time to prepare for the trip of the decade! Well…it feels like it is for us! As you know, my family had a few financial setbacks over the past five years and now…things are better. My hubby told me the business, he works for, will be closed on July 4th. The holiday falls on his normal day off…which means he has another day either before or after. [insert roaring cheers and fireworks!] So I suggested…”With your normal days off of Sunday and Wednesday (July 4th) can you get that Tuesday the 3rd as your day off and ask for a vacation day for that Monday?”. My hubby seemed a bit surprised…so I clarified! “You could have Sunday through Wednesday off and only be asking for one day of vacation!” My hubby acted as if I had just cured cancer! Long story short…He asked and his boss agreed! [Instant Vacation!]

My hubby quickly called and gave me the good news and then delegated the selection of destination and accommodations. I will not bore you with the pain staking methods of selection criteria. The virtual dry-erase boards with endless possibilities starred and crossed through seemed endless. The good news is that I decided on the Smoky Mountains! I then proceeded to search for accommodations with a pampered resort feel. I had narrowed the list to two destinations when I received a travel guide in the mail. I flipped through this colorful and detailed description of this beautiful mountain area and found a cheerful and rustic Resort. “Condos!” [Four Nights for the price of Three!] “Hmmm!” Let’s check out the pictures… The pictures were incredible! There was also a queen sleeper sofa for our 11 year old in another room which was a big plus.
Mountain view…check
Separate sleeping quarters…check
Home away from home…OOO Ahh!

I could not wait to show my hubby. He came home and settled comfortably into his chair. I showed him the other choices first saving the condos for last…once the picture of the balcony came up I had his full attention. Within 20 minutes the condo was reserved!

“I think I will make a countdown for the fridge…”

With my coffee companion close by my side I will begin the final preparations and packing. It Is Time For Coffee and Vacation Planning! This trip will be a first for our family…well…now that three of the four boys will not be going. They each work and my oldest does not live at home. My sons that still live at home will be guarding the homestead and taking care of my “Precious Princess”. “My hubby and I have already begun the subliminal programming, of their minds, suggesting no parties or gatherings.”

The dryer has just beeped telling me…FOLD CLOTHES! I will refill my coffee and do as I am commanded…and then begin making my list. “I cannot wait!” I hope you can find time to enjoy the day and it’s simpler pace! I am definitely up for that challenge! Until next time…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 9, 2012, in About me, coffee, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, Reflection, social media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love the Smokey Mountains! My husband and I always get a cabin with a hot tub on the deck. One cabin also had a jacuzzi in the master bedroom. They often have a guest book where you can record memories of your stay. I enjoy reading about the honeymooners, family reunions, and such, but reading about the bears just outside the door going through the garbage cans frightened me! It also explained why the garbage cans were across the drive from the cabin! Still, it is so beautiful and peaceful in the mountains.

    There are many fun things to do there; I know your youngest will enjoy it! I can’t wait to hear all about it when ya’ll return!

Leave a Reply

