Peach State says: Sometimes You Just Need To Scream!

20120529-074325.jpg. Ever have one of those days…NOTHING GOES RIGHT! I have no more words of wisdom and I ran out of straws to break the strongest of camel backs a few months ago. One thing after another! Why did the publishing company stop printing the parenting book called “Tricks of the Trade…How to Successfully Raise a Responsible Teenager!” Perhaps I should write a book and title it…”Sometimes You Just Need To Scream!”

The proverbial carpet has been pulled out from under our feet. Typically parents have the luxury of speaking their mind as the child/teen is forced to listen. The parental words bounce around, like a award winning play on a pinball machine, popping and pinging against the different areas of their brain. BUT…this time the words went flying straight through…in one ear and out the other…not one word was left behind!

I worry about the loss of communication surrounding this series of events. The good news is that the child/teen involved is trying, through humor, to stay connected with the family. “I think the whole concept of borderline adult scares the pants off him!” He is so overwhelmed and cannot make sense of what to do next. His independent spirit, whispering in his ear, resembles the devil complete with pitchfork. He is telling him one thing which is the complete opposite of what we have suggested. “Why is it kids just don’t realize how parents really do know something about making it in the world?” “Did I say that out loud?” I have long been aware of the vicious relationship circle between parents and kids…but now I sound like a parent from a bad 50’s movie.

Now when my husband calls, on his way home from work, and wants to know about my day with the boys…I respond…”I do not want to talk about ______!” I do not need to frustrate either of us. Avoidance is essential to sanity right now. But just below the surface it is waiting….”Sometimes You Just Need To Scream!

However…other issues have come not play. Stress is causing problems with our health. The underlying pain, ranging from sore muscles to migraines, and stomach aches have begun to plagues us daily. On the flip side…at least my husband and I know the reason for the bickering and have put blame where it belongs.

I apologize for the vagueness but just needed to vent. It really helps! I can see all of you agreeing with everything I say as all of your heads nod up and down. Your sympathetic understanding of my position helps me feel like I am not alone…but if you know what I am going through…I am sorry and can identify with you! Do you want to share a scream? 1-2-3 SCREEAAMM! “Sometimes You Just Need To Scream!

Well I feel better…so now it is time to get ready for the next thing on my agenda…room decoration!
I am teaching the 4th Grade Class in VBS (Vacation Bible School) next week and this is decoration week. Time to put on my creative hat and see what I can do…I hope the hat still fits!

Thank you for your help today! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in About me, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, Uncatagorized, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Wow, and I didn’t even have my video hooked up to my computer…Girl, I feel your pain with my “perpetual teenager.” Had to resort to avoidance just last night so as not to scream! The level of irresponibility amazes me almost as much as it annoys me! And now SHE has a teenager…ha, ha, ha! (Not really with the ha, ha, ha). I love this teenager (my granddaughter), and want so much more for her than what she’s been given. But, I am still clinging to and believing in God’s promises! So, I put it under the blood of Jesus, praying so hard, and waiting…Glad to have the support of family and Christian friends who love me, and who love my “perpetual teenager” and her teenager! So, I pray for you and your teenager, too, my friend!

  2. Some day the kids will have kids and it will all equal out šŸ™‚

  3. Hold on to the fact that you probably have taught the most valuable of lessons, such as honesty, hard work, etc and know that those will surface and the teenanger will grow up and come to them. It just may not be on your time.

Leave a Reply

