Peach State says: 4 More Days

20120522-071338.jpg
Gone are the days of consistency in schedules. Gone are the days doing homework at the kitchen table and the endless questions from a 5th Grader fishing for the easy solution. It is the last week of school in our county and the anticipation, mixed with fevered chaos, has spread from the youngest to the oldest of students. Countdowns are on every calendar…4 More Days!

Last week, while working with my teacher friend in her classroom, I was witness to the changing of the numbers. A school staff member walked into a lively cafeteria and stood in front of the over-sized countdown on the wall. Taking down the old number…10… and replacing it with the first single digit…9 day left. The whispers began to change quickly as he stepped away revealing the remaining days of school. The children’s excitement grew as the staff in the cafeteria began trying to quiet the to-be-expected emotion.

My neighbor is a teacher and I enjoy the countdown conversations we have…he is as excited as the kids are at the end of school…but the tiny black storm cloud of impending doom will soon hang over his head as he, and every other teacher, start the Back To School countdown.

Anyway…I received an email from my youngest’s teacher yesterday about his behavior. “This is a daily occurrence and is often filled with bad choices and conduct reports!” She tried to be a positive as she could be…This is the email:

As expected…he had a rough morning but was quick to tell everyone he had not had his medicine. By the afternoon he began to level out in his behavior. This will be a hard week for him with the anxious chaos filling the school. He will be re-taking the Math Test on Wednesday! “I love this next statement!” 4 More Days!

I am not sure if she is counting down till Summer or days until my son is gone. Let us hope that it anticipation of Summer!

For those of you who may not be avid followers of my blog…my son is a unique spirit that chooses to bounce like a Tigger instead of controlling himself. He gets frustrated very easily and his anger will explode into shouting matches and desk throwing. “The throwing of desks happened in third grade…and all parties involved had never seen a child act this way in school.” Having this young boy in our home for the past 4 almost 5 years has been like a test…with no Study Guide available.

With 4 More Days till Summer my husband and I have started considering some-type of vacation during the summer. “This is the first time, in almost 4 years, that we could entertain the thought of leaving the house.” So with my husband working and his desire to not sit at home doing nothing we will make some plans. It will be a new experience for us with 2 of our sons working full time and our oldest living across the state. We opened the floor for suggestions…”Hey Bud…where would you like to go this Summer?”

Here is the list:
Snow Boarding
Skiing
Canoeing
White Water Rafting
Rock Climbing
Sky Diving
Scuba Diving and
Lego Land

My husband and I looked at each other and asked him why he chose these activities. He responded very quickly with…”I thought I should have my own Bucket List.” There was no mention of Six Flags or Disney and Universal Studios…no desire to visit any amusement type park…We were blown away!

So I sit here writing as the house is quietly beginning it’s day. The school buses hum through the neighborhood and deliver the huddled masses yearning to be free! My husband has left for his short day leading up to his day off tomorrow. One son is off today and will fill his time with yard work…”I hate weeds!” I am waiting to hear from my teacher friend to see if she needs help today…4More Days! Sleeping in…relaxed schedules…

If it sounds to good to be true…It Is! Vacation Bible School planning and decorating next week leading up to a week of deliberate chaos. So for now I will hold closely the activity coming on the horizon…a family trip to the movies…Men In Black 3…and cherish the thought that I may actually get to my beloved Beach House this summer. Well…a beach trip is being planned!

What will fill your days of summer? Will you find time with family and friends…days at the beach and amusement parks? Let me know…I may need some more suggestions to replace the sky diving! Till then..4 More Days!. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in About me, Children, coffee, family, Grumpy, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, Uncatagorized, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a fun and active summer for you all! Out of your list, I could probably do the canoeing and the Lego Land. Good thing I didn’t have boys! My old babysitting routine will resume next week with my grandson, as his dad is now a full-time student, working part-time. His mommy has vacation this week.

    If my husband and I take a vacation, it will be for our anniversary in late August. We won’t go too far…probably either North Georgia, or the Smokey Mountains. I don’t know, we may mix it up and head down to Florida. Who knows? We are usually vacationing off season, which makes it less crowded, and more relaxing. I love Charleston and Savannah, so those are also options.

    I know how much you love and long for that beach house. I hope you have the opportunity to vacation there this summer!

Leave a Reply

