Peach State says: Time To Put the Feet Up!

20120519-165518.jpg
I am finally home from a day long trip to my home town. My niece graduated from High School today and for the first time in many years I drove beyond my parents house. It was fun to see all the changes and even more…what had stayed familiar and unchanged. Looking down the list of graduates was like looking at an old church roll.

After walking across my old college campus, where the high school graduation was held, I finally found all of my siblings and their spouses. We endured an hour of introductions and special music and finally started the handling out of the diplomas. BUT WAIT! Instructions were given 3 times on how to clap…when to clap…no noise makers!

“Please contain you clapping and cheering for your graduate until the entire row is complete.”
The third graduate stepped over to receive her diploma as cheers and horns sounded!
I am glad my parents decided to leave after my niece walked across the stage.

We gathered to have lunch together and celebrate the day…then we all went our own ways and headed home. I picked up a couple of things for dinner and a movie!

Who wants to cook? Not me!
And the movie called Joyful Noise that no one in my family wants to see…except for me!

So I will close…with comfy clothes now on…and my Almond Joy Mocha beside my chair…the movie is starting. Enjoy your evening!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 19, 2012, in About me, coffee, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, movies, Uncatagorized, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad you had a good day with your family! You know, they always “instruct” the guests not to cheer for their graduate, instead to wait until the end of a line, or the whole program at these ceremonies. Without fail, those instructions are ignored! LOL!

    I hope you enjoyed your movie. Oh, by the way, thanks to our mutual friend, we shall be wardrobe coordinated tomorrow! See you in a few hours…

Leave a Reply

