Peach State says: Visiting with Friends

20120512-073537.jpgI must admit my excitement about today’s activity. It has been a very long time since I participated in a home cooking party. I was invited a few weeks ago and quickly RSVP’ed. I love the gadgets and recipes but most of all I will spend my morning Visiting With Friends!

If you have ever been to a home party like this you know there is food, drawings, demonstrations and lots of giggling. The recipes are creative and offer a different presentation of family favorites.

20120512-075030.jpg

This is a Taco Ring and is one of the standard recipes for most Cooking Type Parties.
Preparation and presentation…chop, chop, chop and slice, slice, slice. They show you the gadgets they used and how to use them…”If you want your dish to look like this you will buy this gadget!” I am also aware that some will have to buy them and others, like me, have ways of chopping and slicing already available at home.

20120512-075819.jpg
The only thing I do not have from the above picture is the cute little square dishes. “Which I do not need because I have cute little square dishes already…”

As for the recipes…well there will be several I am sure I will want to try at home. I will make sure I pass those along to you later today!

As for the few minutes I have before getting ready to leave…Coffee! I will finish my coffee and enjoy the sound of the rain while I play a game of cards. I will then straighten up the kitchen and move the laundry before heading upstairs. “A friend is coming over to ride with me, to a mutual friend’s house, for the party and I do not want her walking in and seeing a dirty kitchen…Do I?”

Do you like going to parties like this? Do you enjoy the tasting and demonstrations or do you just like Visiting With Friends? I will have a special time this morning and will tell you all about the party and recipes later…until then…Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 12, 2012, in About me, Baking, coffee, cooking, Food, friends, Home, Just Between Cousins, recipes, Uncatagorized, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am behind on blog reading! Busy weekend, and then migraine! You should have let your friend see your dirty kitchen; it may have made her feel better about hers! Your clean car didn’t do ANYTHING for her self-esteem! Ha, ha!

    The party was so much fun! After I left there, many things happened, which kept me hopping. Then, overnight the migraine developed. I was able to attend church with Mom; but I was useless for the remainder of the day. Slept just a little on the couch, but when I went to bed, was wide awake. Just before retiring, I suddenly remembered the PC party, and that I had a catalog somewhere, which I didn’t remember seeing in the house. So, I searched the car and the house, but couldn’t find it. After working a couple of crossword puzzles, I decided to strain my brain by trying to remember, and retrace my steps from the day before. It was quite the challenge. With the help of a Wal-Mart receipt, I was able to make a guess that the catalog was still in the car. I took my dog outside with me, since it was the wee hours of the morning, and looked one more time, and ta-dah! There it was!

    I kept thinking that I would get sleepy and fall asleep any minute, but no! I was able to carefully peruse the catalog, and mark the items I want with a pen, dog-earing the pages for easy access! I found a couple of pans small enough for my toaster oven! Yay! I did have to get up and measure an oven rack, and my scoop.

    I love the parties, and am glad to be able to attend and order once again! It was a fun time of fellowship as well! Our sweet hostess and the consultants did a great job! I will be placing my order today!

  2. Oh, don’t worry…I still have a few things I want! Ha, ha! I’m sure we will be able to eat off the floor of your kitchen next week! LOL!

  3. 🙂

Leave a Reply

