Peach State says: My Little Garden

20120511-071844.jpg
It sits quietly on my deck as it soaks up the warmth from the early morning sun. It reminds me daily to visit and shares with my family from the various stems and pots. I do love My Little Garden!

Two large tomato plants grow strong and tall.

20120511-072614.jpg

20120511-072734.jpg
We have already had more fresh tomatoes than last year. Just look what I have picked the past two days…

20120511-073159.jpg
This is the third bowl this season! “I love fresh tomatoes!”

Next to the window I have a wonderful Mint! Fresh Mint is the perfect addition to my Sweet Tea.

20120511-073539.jpg
This is the fourth season with this herb.

Over on the table I have more herbs and something new I am trying…

20120511-073744.jpg
This planter holds my Chives and Cilantro and an Italian Herb. The Chives are doing well…the Cilantro is a little slow this season…the single stem Italian Herb is a snip-it I started about a month ago. I usually put this in my dressings!

The experiment this season are the potatoes!

20120511-074259.jpg
I am really excited about these and hope this works. If it does…we will start a potato patch.

The last plant in my garden..that is not a flowering plant, is my Lemon Balm.

20120511-074514.jpg
I bought this as a started three years ago…I just couldn’t help myself…the smell is wonderful!

I will be adding peppers in two weeks and maybe another tomato plant. I have two friends who have larger than life gardens…I always get plenty of cucumbers and beans from them. Last year I made homemade Pickles and even sold a few jars. I had slices and spears and even some relish. I am almost out!

20120511-080253.jpg

20120511-080303.jpg

20120511-080313.jpg
I surprised myself at how good they were. I am hoping to get some squash this year…maybe I could put some up for the winter.

Well…my garden is small…but I enjoy it. Maybe one day I will be able to put a garden in the back yard! Right now my son, the Landscaper, says there is no room. I think he does not want to work anymore than he has too! My dream garden would have a Raspberry Vine and a Coffee Bean Tree. “Okay!”. Give me a little credit…”I was thinking how wonderful it would be to simply have an unlimited supply of already roasted Coffee Beans.”. Silly me!

What would you grow in your garden? What tricks and methods do you use in your garden?
I am always looking for ways to improve My Little Garden! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 11, 2012, in About me, coffee, family, Food, gardening, Just Between Cousins, pictures, Uncatagorized, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Beautiful plants! I have never had much of a green thumb, but it has improved some in the past few years. I could never keep anything other than “monkey grass” alive! Now, I have several house plants, which have survived for many years. So, I may try my hand at gardening one day. But, I would also have to learn to can or “put up” as our neighbor across the street called it when I was a young girl.

    When my oldest granddaughter was very young, and she and her mom lived at our house, she and her Poppy started a very small garden in our back yard. They raised cucumbers and tomatoes. It really excited her to be able to tend the garden with her Poppy, and to grow food to contribute to family meals!

    Funny that you should blog about gardening. Ariel and I had a funny, but slightly morbid experience yesterday in a miniature fairy garden…or was it morbid, but slightly funny? Hmmm…I may post it on facebook, not sure. I’ll surely tell you about it.

    I too, have many friends who garden, and usually receive gifts from their gardens each year. It is ALWAYS appreciated! Hopefully, I’ll get to send them gifts from MY garden one day!

  2. Very nice. You are ahead of us northern folk. I hope to get to the lake house to start my herb garden and tomatoes soon. Looks yummy

    • My hubby and I had talked about starting a major garden on our property…but it is about three hours away on the other side of the state. With gas prices the way they are and his work schedule..it never happened. We are hoping to build and eventually move there but that is way down the road. It is a farming community with a very small town feel. My hubby and the boys would go hunting down there.
      I would love to hear more about this Lake House. It sounds wonderful! Enjoy your time there!
      Peach State

  3. Your little garden looks lovely. I could just imagine sitting out there with a cup of coffee. There is something so satisfying about growing your own produce isn’t there? Try planting some basil in the same pot as your tomatoes. They are mutually benificial to each other and it will improve the flavour of your tomatoes 🙂

  4. This year is my first garden since I have now retired. It is doing well and I love it. Your’s looks beautiful. It is so peaceful. How do you alreadyhave ripe tomatoes??

    • I was fortunate enough to have found some strong starters with plenty of blooms. They have really thrived. I have done the topsy turvy method the past two years and did not get that many tomatoes and the ones I picked we’re small. I am thrilled to have sandwich size this year. Good luck with your garden and enjoy!
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

