Peach State says:Today is a Day Of Firsts!

20120507-065907.jpg
The day is as calm as it will get…the schedule for today is complex and filled with new endeavors.
Today is a Day of Firsts!

With it being a Monday I am up, as a friend call it, at the “butt-crack of dawn”. I begin my normal routine and know that several extra tasks have been added. My husband had several bad experiences with lunch last week and asked for items that he could take instead of eating out. So… am cutting up celery and carrots.

20120507-070556.jpg
After I fixed his breakfast and our lattes’ I set upon the task of chop…chop…chop! I also cut up some pineapple and strawberries. Hopefully he will not eat all of it and have some left for tomorrow. Yep…you guessed it…he is trying to diet!

He announced Saturday that he was going to quit smoking! “That’s wonderful!…when?”

20120507-071046.jpg
Monday!”
He bought the Nicorette Patches yesterday. Boy…Today is a Day of Firsts

My 19 year old went to work out early this morning and will come home and clean up only to return to the same gym…he starts teaching his first class, Self Defense and Boxing, today!
Early day for my 21 year old…instead of the 11:00 starting time he opens today.

And what will I be doing today…I am also experiencing a first today!
I will be going to Curves this morning…

20120507-071946.jpg
I need to get motivated and find some accountability!
I did try on a pair of my old pants yesterday and almost got them buttoned. “That’s better than the last time!”
When I finish at Curves I will run home (drive) and clean up before heading up to help a friend in her classroom. “It’s that time of year again…time for the sorting and reorganizing of games and books…time to pack her personal teaching aids…did I mention she is moving to a new school in the fall?”

“I better take some Tylenol and see if I can keep this migraine from starting! I am already feeling it in my neck and forehead…Not Good!”

After helping my friend for about three hours I will return home and…
NAP!
“I wish!” I will begin the everyday cleaning and preparation of dinner. “Mom’s job is never done…and if it is then no ones tells mom!” Fortunately I don’t have a whole lot to do on my daily chore list. “Now there is a First!

What is on your list of things to do today? You might be surprised and find that Today is a Day of Firsts for you as well! As for me…i will finish my latte and then go get ready…I will be leaving in about 35 minutes. Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on May 7, 2012, in About me, coffee, Diet, exercise, family, Grumpy, health, Home, Just Between Cousins, Marriage, musings, pictures, Uncatagorized, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Today was my first morning of 2012 having coffee outside on my deck at my cottage! It’s a day of first for me too as it’s my first full day here in my beautiful piece of paradise! Enjoy your day! Share you happiness with others!

    • I am so jealous. I don’t get to the cottage for another month. But when I do, I to will spend my first, second, third..etc. etc. enjoying my coffee on the deck. Have a great day and think of us poor people still trudging through the daily grind.

    • i have finally made it back home! I ended up staying to help my friend longer than originally thought. I hope you are able to enjoy your coffee on your deck a lot in the upcoming season. Please think of me…or of those who are not a fortunate…as you sip your “Heavenly Brew!”.
      Peach State

  2. Sorry about your migraine. I hope it goes away soon! I know your friend is thankful for your help today. As for me, I started making a list this weekend of the numerous things I want accomplished soon. Billy will have to do some of them. I really don’t know where I will start…Oh, I know…I will start by reading the list again, and deciding where to start.

    I am happy to hear that your husband is quitting smoking. I will pray that he is successful. I wish my husband would quit smoking.

    I hope the rest of your day is pain-free…

    • It is a little better…but still nagging. I have just gotten home and have found out that I need to drive to Dallas about four. Oh goody! I will get to drive in traffic. My hubby needs me to bring him some paperwork.
      Peach State

  3. Mine is a good day. My husband left for a business trip for three days so that frees me up. The kids are still here but they really require less maintenance. They still think breakfast for supper, pizza and chicken strips are gourmet meals. Yes it will be a good few days to catch up on some of my school work I’ve let slide. Don’t know what a 45 year old woman is doing trying to start a new career anyway.
    Have a great day and your help will be greatly appreciated I’m sure

    • Oh…the gourmet meals we would have when my dad was away! Corn dogs, pizza( the cheap ones! ), and hamburger helper. We were really living large!
      Good luck with the career change! I am sure, whatever the reason, you will be great!
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

