Peach State says: Too Much of a Good Thing!

20120426-064631.jpg
With a Wedding and an Anniversary Dinner on Saturday and Sunday, respectfully, I already knew it was going to be a non-diet weekend. I just didn’t realize the unique challenges that were ahead of me! It was Too Much of a Good Thing!
This past weekend I attended my niece’s wedding with a dinner afterwards at a restaurant called “The Sage.” The menu offered included 4 selections: A fancy chicken dish…”I was not in the mood for chicken!” Another dish which was a gumbo type of dish with scallops…uh..nope! A filet…”With my anniversary dinner the next night at Pappadeaux and the fact that I already knew what I was going to order there…no filet!” The only thing left on the menu was a dish I have never had…Mahi Mahi! The appetizers were brought out…calamari, beef and chicken on a stick and bruschetta on sliced baguettes. “Sorry…I am the basic appetizers type of girl!” You know…Cheese sticks and marinara, shrimp cocktail, or chips and salsa. Any of those would have done nicely. But alas…none of these were presented. I was going to have the full experience of new foods tonight…so…I tried the calamari! It had a good rhythm but you couldn’t dance to it! Oh sorry…that was the piped in music! I will never order calamari if I have other favorites available but all in all it was not bad. The next course was the Greek Salad…which was very delightful! The left over dressing provided the perfect dip for the bread. The main course was delivered to the table!

20120426-071838.jpg
I was quite surprised at the texture and taste. I used the entire juice from the lemon and ate each succulent bite. “I did not eat the rice…I am dieting!”
My sister ordered the filet…

20120426-072122.jpg
The meal and the dinner conversation were both delightful!

Sunday evening my husband and I celebrated our 26th Wedding Anniversary by dinning at Pappadeaux. I have known, for a long time, the reputation of good food at this restaurant. Ordering did not take long…we both chose the Filet Oscar. A creamy Hollandaise Sauce with chunks of Crab and bites of Asparagus topped the filet.

20120426-073754.jpg

20120426-073710.jpg
It was melt in your mouth wonderful! And…I did not eat all of my potatoes…diet remember!

The thing about diets is the same as any rule! They can be broken….

20120426-074201.jpg The dessert tray filled with temptations and delights! Sweet Potato Pecan Pie…Creme Brûlée…Turtle Brownie…Strawberry Cheesecake…Key Lime Pie…all of this and more…Too Much of a Good Thing!

20120426-074846.jpg
I ordered the Turtle Brownie and my husband ordered the Banana Pudding! My husband could not eat all of his…very rich and he loved every bite.

20120426-075134.jpg
He did finish his left overs later that evening!

I enjoyed every tasty tidbit! “Except for the amount I still have sitting in my fridge.”

20120426-075334.jpg
What you see on the plate, in the above picture, is what I brought home…except for the Ice Cream sitting on top. It was so rich and had a layer of Turtle type sauce in between the brownie layers.

I have not recovered from the abundance of delicacies this past weekend! My diet is trying to pick up where it left off…really trying! My hands are still puffy from the extra salt! It has been a very long time since I have eaten this type of food in such a short period of time. I can honestly say there really is such a thing as Too Much of a Good Thing!

Do you find yourself enjoying the same type of food when you eat out? Would you have been able to eat the whole thing? “I could have too! But I would have hated myself and been miserable all night.” I think I will have another plain green salad tonight! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 26, 2012, in About me, Diet, family, Food, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, pictures, Uncatagorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yummy! Those all look and sound delicious! Such a treat! I love good food, but can never eat the large portions all at one sitting! I can now eat more at one time than when I was a younger adult. It would have taken me three or four days to eat such large portions then. I am a bit adventurous when it comes to food. I’ll try most anything at least once, and I am not a picky eater per se, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t have preferances concerning what I eat, and how it is prepared or seasoned. Good company, conversation, music and fun belong with good food! It is so important to celebrate life’s special occasions in this way. Looks like a good time was had by all! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

