Peach State says: Happy Anniversary!

20120423-064506.jpg
Today is our 26th Wedding Anniversary…where did the time go? Happy Anniversary! to my Honey! I remember the day very clearly! My then fiancé’ came home from work about 4 that Tuesday afternoon. I got off about 5 and drove the five short blocks to see him standing out in front of our apartment. He was grinning from ear to ear…”I am off tomorrow sooo….let’s get married! I immediately ran inside and called my boss in a frantic excitement. Every nerve in my body tingled and the tears were welling up in my eyes. I knew that this was short notice and was nervous my boss would not let me off. “Well congrats! That will be fine…I will take your class for you! Will I see you on Thursday?” I told her she would because he had to report back for duty on Thursday. With that settled I turned into the arms of my love.

Everything had already been gathered…the blood tests were completed and placed with the other paperwork. My roommate and her boyfriend would be our witnesses and they were thrilled when we told them that evening. I only had one hurdle standing in front of me…my parents! But what they didn’t know they could not stop.

Wednesday morning I ordered a few flowers and made a bouquet. The love of my life washed his truck. “I guess that is a guy thing!” We headed down to the courthouse and met up with our Best Man and Maid of Honor. My stomach was tossing and turning as it grumbled. I had been to excited to eat…we waited for what felt like an eternity…until the calling of our names stunned the silence.
It was a Wednesday afternoon at 4:00 when the Judge said “I now pronounce you husband and wife!” I floated out of the building and down the never-ending cascade of steps. We went home and I fixed dinner…we ate…and I left for choir practice. “Don’t shake your head!” My dad was the Minister of Music and there is no excuse for missing choir practice. Besides they did not know we were married!

I will not bore you with the unique and tedious details…we never have been the average couple. We only knew each other for 11 weeks. We were introduced and went on three dates in two weeks then he left for field exercises for 2 weeks. He proposed when he got back and then he went to Desert Training for 3 weeks about six days later. That was the longest three weeks of my life. When he returned from the Desert Training we were married 3 weeks later.

My dad bet me it would not last a year and thought I was only getting married because I was pregnant. “It was three years later when we welcomed our first son into the world!”
I guess I won that bet…to bad there was no money involved!

I found out from my mother that she and my father had eloped too! Imagine my surprise as she told me all about that tasty detail. Relief flooded over me! I had taken our marriage certificate to my mother and broke the news to her as she opened the envelope. My dad…well that was the hard one! I called him at work. “He could not throw a fit and had to remain calm!” He got us back for not telling them by calling us at 7:30 in the morning the Saturday after our wedding. “Good morning…you still sleeping? We are celebrating my birthday with a family picnic at the lake…the whole family…see you there!” The order was received and followed! We survived the family event and flurry of cross-examination type questioning.

My family have long since accepted my husband into the family and my parents do live him! It only took a few years…but they did come around. It may have been easier had we not moved back to his home state after he got out of the Army. “We moved from Georgia to Washington State…and I loved it!”

So here we are 26 years later… I have said goodbye to him this morning as he headed off to work…I will bake his one of his favorite cakes…Three-layer Chocolate Cake with almonds and clean the house and prepare and cook a dinner for him. We went out last night not knowing what time he might be able to get home tonight. I will clean the house and light the candles. Romance may have to wait…with three boys still living at home and normal schedules to follow…but our time will be special!

They said it would never last but here we are celebrating 26 years…I never considered the number of years…I just saw the happiness and love we would share together. So let me say it again…Happy Anniversary! I love being married…to my husband! Have a great day!

20120423-082615.jpg
Peach State

Posted on April 23, 2012, in About me, Baking, Blog, cleaning, cooking, family, Home, Just Between Cousins, Marriage, musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! I enjoyed reading your story of the proposal, wedding, and announcements! Thanks for sharing. Sounds like you have a very special evening planned; I hope it is an enjoyable time of celebration!

Leave a Reply

