Peach State says: “You’ve Got To Be Kidding!”

20120420-070716.jpg
What?…No Way!…“You’ve Got To Be Kidding!” I am going to start ignoring American Idol.. This season only had, in my opinion, three good singers make the cuts from Hollywood Week. I have been voting for two the last couple of weeks. The so-called “tremendous talent” I just don’t see it. I see growlers and screamers…jazzy mumbles all who can sing…but tremendous talent…No Way! Last nights elimination of Colton Dixon, one of my favorites, was not a surprise. The Judges have their favorites…the gushing sentiments and standing ovations for these performers leave me shaking my head. “Did they hear the same performance I did?” “You’ve Got To Be Kidding!”

For those of you who may be shaking your heads at my ignorance…let me explain my background.
I was raised in a musical home. We all sing…and lead in our music ministries. My father was trained and performed in many venues just like my youngest sister and myself. My brother is an incredibly talented singer and instrumentalist. My other sister is involved with the music program at her church. My family have never been just choir singers, not that there is anything wrong with being a singer in a choir, we are used in other ways musically. I know there is more to this American Idol business than singing…but these judges did not pick the best and brightest this season at all, with the exception of three of them, out of the original singers that made it to Hollywood.

Maybe I have gotten old…”No..that can’t be…based on the type of music I listen to!” I was raised with a love for good music…no matter the type. I enjoy many different types of music…even instrumental classical. I feel sorry for the American Idol show and realize that this will probably be the last year, or season, that I will watch. My husband gets a kick out of me every week! I hold my phone in my hand with finger ready to dial and vote, like a mad dog, for my favorites. I have chosen the winner, early on, every season! One of my favorites is still in the mix…I will not mention her name…but, she has a spunky personality and incredibly big voice.

My husband, who does not have a musical bone in his body but thinks he does, cannot understand the judges either. My husband will spin and look at me, with that eyebrow raised, and say…”Eeww did you hear that?” “What did you think about that performance?” If my husband hears bad notes and questions the judges favorites there’s a problem. Maybe the melodious dragging of fingernails on a chalkboard is responsible for the “goosies” the judges experience. Most of the hopeful’s performances leave my eyes glazed over like a “deer in the headlights” with my mouth open wide as I think “You’ve Got To Be Kidding!”

Sorry for the rambling on…back to Colton! Kudos on the graceful exit! Colton has touched many with his belief based performances. Last night’s performance was an uplifting experience as he fell to his knees and sang from his heart. He knew! He was at peace! I cried as I watched this young man, full of spirit, sing the last note. “I will buy his CD!” My son, who does the audio/visual for a band, agreed! He could not believe Colton Dixon was eliminated. We will miss this young man and his creative versatility. The music business is not finished with him!

I know I may sound a bit picky…but we all have our likes and dislikes. I like melody…not note seeking growls. What do you like? Let me know! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in About me, Blog, Church, faith, God, Just Between Cousins, music, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t watch American Idol, but I am watching The Voice. Still not sure which contestant I like best, but am sure of a few that should go home. I look for a combination of things in a performer. I have been shocked at only one elimination so far, but I figured the judge had her reasons for eliminting him. I, like you, like a variety of music genres and styles, so I enjoy most of the performances. Still, on both shows, the winner needs to be that ONE that stands out among all the good ones!

  2. I totally agree with you…I have not watched the voice as much this season! I did not like the talent this year when they got to the duet portion. It did not show the abilities fairly and good people were not chosen over questionable talent.
    Peach State

  3. Pretty portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact loved account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing in your augment and even I success you get entry to consistently fast.

Leave a Reply

