Peach State says: I Would Rather Be There!

20120419-065400.jpg
With my list of chores already laid out before me today I receive this picture of a friends vacation spot. I simply replied…Jealous! I Would Rather Be There in that place by the sea! The fresh salty air and the mist from the breaking waves as they crash against the white sand. But I grab my coffee and continue with my day! I am not finding any solace in my daily doldrums. I need to escape! Don’t get me wrong…I love being a housewife and taking care of the castle. I just need to get out past the walls of the fortress…by myself…and breathe in some fresh air. I know…I know…I got out last night when I went to church. I will get out again on Sunday morning. Maybe I should have titled this post…”My Pity Party!” I will leave in a little while and search for a useful wedding gift for my niece. “Her wedding is Saturday!” Once that retail exploration is complete I will return to the castle…and clean!

The floors of the castle are laden with traveler’s dust and collections from their journeys….(translation)… The floors are covered in the tracked in dirt from the boys and the dog along with scattered debris, like clothes and balls and water bottles and doggie toys, as they came in. The movie images of the servants sweeping the castle’s dirt floors was hilarious to me as a child. Sadly…that is the way my floors have been lately. I know they are not dirt floors…but with the constant pollen and laying down of new mulch comes yard work which leads to a constant flow of mud and grass throughout the house.

The boys have their chores (which all seem to fall on me) that are completed during the day. With their new schedules and revolving door routine the chores never get done. My youngest…well he can’t be expected to do them all and he would forget to do them anyway. Besides…what beautiful Queen would want to live in a dirty castle! This Queen will not have her King come home to a dirty castle…he would not be happy! We are not a poor kingdom…but the concept of servants only exists in dreams. The shinning of the marble and crystal must be maintained. The polishing of the silver is not an everyday activity. The Royal Gardens are still under seasonal construction and will be completed in the summer. The ever present plague of dust must be removed by hand and Pledge. “A fresh scented Pledge dusting spray not a vow!” A short solitary escape is what I desire…I Would Rather Be There!

20120419-075302.jpg
Walking along the shore as the sun’s glow touches my skin. The sound of the waves fills my senses and drowns out all other interruptions. The warm water covers my feet as the loosened sand embraces my toes.

Snapped back to reality as I sip on my latte’! Two have already left and two prepare for their day. I will soon be alone…able to accomplish what needs to be done. Is there a nap on that list? Funny, I always want a nap but never have the time for one. I will need to keep moving this morning to avoid stiffening up like a suit of armor in the castle halls. I moved the wrong way yesterday and twisted when I should have bobbed. The pain will fade…”I hope!”…as I continue my Royal Itinerary.
I should add a visit to the Royal Baker to my list…(the local Panera Bread) for my free Mocha refreshment! This will be a pleasant addition to my retail exploration. I peeked at the bride’s list of treasures and have a idea of a wonderful gift. “I received a very large oversized bowl when I got married and use it all the time.”

My stomach growls increasingly as I wonder if the Royal Cook has any brown sugar oats. Wait…I am the Royal cook…time to fix my breakfast. Do you want to escape? Where Would You Rather Be? For the time being…this Queen will continue on the path in front of her…until the King gives her some funds from the overflowing Royal Treasury. Ah! There lies the rub! The Royal Treasury is lacking and has not been overflowing for quite a while. Oh well! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in About me, beach house, Blog, Children, Church, cleaning, coffee, cooking, Diet, exercise, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, pain, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I would like to go anywhere with my husband for about two weeks, and come home to a clean house…one that somebody else cleaned!

  2. I don’t care if somebody else cleans it, or if someone else cleans it…as long as it gets cleaned by somebody or someone other than me, myself, or I!

Leave a Reply

