Peach State says: Soap Box Topics

20120417-073227.jpg

I have reached the “End of the Rope” and I am slipping! The knot has come undone and the rope is beginning to loosen. It is time to get a few things off my chest! So I will take the chance right now and step up onto my Soap Box and share…“Soap Box Topics!”

Late e-mails from teacher
The bells and whistles sound every night! E-mails from my youngest’s teachers reach my inbox between 10:00-12:00 midnight. I am sorry I can not follow through with my son as he is in bed.

Pocket Collections
I know what little boys are made of and the treasures they store in their pockets…I just need a garbage truck available for my youngest.

School Parking
The parking lot is so small…Come on! Can we not think first when planning the parking lot. This school has three schools that feed into it. Each of them have parking lots the size of a standard shopping center.

$$$Money$$$
Okay…to be fair…it is the lack of money. Not only does the $$$Money$$$ I have not buy what it bought a year ago but now the monthly installment has been decreased. Grocery prices and fuel prices continue to rise and the money coming in gets cut. “What’s a mom to do?” Arrrrgh!

Picky Eaters
I have been fortunate, until now, to be able to put a meal in the table and have no leftovers. If there were leftovers they were frozen and used later that week. When did Dinner Dictator move in and when can he move out?

Dinning Room Laundry Mat
Why must every article of clothing owned by my son sit in my Dinning Room? Wash and dry…take to your room and fold and put away. Worked before…will work now!

Empty Nester Tease
Quit acting like you are not living here! I plan for 5 for dinner…you don’t eat here! I plan for three for dinner…What can I eat?

Puppy Dog Eyes
I am sick and tired of the Puppy Dog Eyes that fill my 11year old’s face when he doesn’t get what others get. Your behavior is not consistent and your chores are done by others in the house…”Usually Mom!” What is this “I deserve it all” mentality? My husband and I never had to deal with this issue with our older three boys.

Pick A Box
As parents we know that each of our 4 children are unique. They have their own proverbial box they think outside of. Our youngest just keeps switching boxes and if one cannot be found in the house he will bring one home that we have never seen….much less experienced!

Wedding Invitations
Why is it that I receive a beautiful Wedding Invitation complete with directions and hotel information from friends yet…four days before a family members wedding get a phone call and no formal invitation? “Sadly…the grandparents of the bride received a similar phone call invitation!”
Better not say anything else!

Broken Toes
Just had to vent…I fell last week and thought I just jammed my big toe…Nope!
Long story short…I just moved my foot knocking my toe and the pain…
Well as daddy always said…”If you are going to make a mistake…make it a good one!”
I really need to wear more flat shoes!

Grocery Prices
I know it fell under the $$$Money$$$ topic but it really deserved to be mentioned again….”Right!” I might as well throw Gas Prices into the mix too!

Hubby Economics
He has always felt there should be plenty of money left over to play with after buying the groceries and filling up the car. I guess he forgot about the Orthodontist and the field trips and school supplies….picking up his dry cleaning and the last minute snack requests for his office. Hmmm!

I am getting a headache thinking about all these (Sarcastically picturing floating flowers and hearts to ease my reality!) normal, life altering, tedious situations. I know I am not alone and that many are suffering with devastating burdens thrust upon them daily. Please note as you read the above Soap Box Topics that I tried to keep them light and that I have left room for contemplation. The bigger picture is filled with disrespect, decaying families and economic downward spirals…”I’m just sayin’!”. Have a great day and thank you for stopping by and letting me rant! Time to ice my toe!

Peach State

Posted on April 17, 2012, in About me, ADHD, Blog, Childhood, Children, cleaning, cooking, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, pain, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Too bad you have reached the end of your rope, because you probably can’t afford to replace it! But, maybe if you learned to spell correctly, you could start a blog and vent about these things! Ha, ha!

    Late e-mails from teachers: No such thing as e-mail when my kids were in school

    Pocket Collections; I had girls, which means instead of pockets, they each had a bedroom for collecting things!

    School Parking: It’s always the same. Obviously, they didn’t learn from all the older schools without sufficient parking, so I suspect they do it on purpose. I mean, why accomodate the parents?

    Money: Don’t get me started! Worrying about it seems to be turning you into a pirate!

    Picky Eaters: My husband will eat anything, and my kids weren’t very picky. But, there are several other children in the family who are extreme with the pickiness!

    Dining Room Laundry Mat: Not an issue. But, I still have a mystery closet, the one in the living room! I continue to find coats, jackets, etc. that belong to “no one” apparently; no one claims them!

    Empty Nester Tease: My problem has been one child that won’t grow up, and kept coming back, bringing wonderful little people with her…

    Puppy Dog Eyes: Currently getting those from my 20 month old grandson. He’s adorable, and can have anything he wants when he does this because I’m GRANDMA!

    Pick A Box: More like “Pick A Personality” around here! Good grief, too many people in one body!!!

    Wedding invitations: I don’t care how they are delivered, as long as I get one.

    Broken Toes: Haven’t I showed you the freaky thing I can do with my little toe on my right foot? Apparently, it has been broken one too many times!

    Grocery Prices: …and if it’s good for you, they charge even more!!!

    Hubby Economics: I think we all (wives, that is) deal with that! I cured my husband of a lot of that early on in the marriage. He began to bitterly complain about what I was spending at the grocery store, and how we never had anything good to eat in the house; so I invited him along the next time I had to buy groceries. Everything he wanted, I encouraged him to “to ahead, throw it in the cart!” His eyes were opened painfully wide when we checked out, and had overspent MY budget for groceries by a substantial amount! He vowed to never question me about where I spend the money again…and he has kept his word! My sarcastic answer of, “Oh, it’s all the furs and diamond rings that I’m spending it on!” had to be retired…it was a good line…

    I hope your head and your toe feel better soon!

    • Learn to spell?

      Please tell me that I did not misspell something!

      I like this blog…the “End of the Rope” blog might be a tad negative…and I don’t write that way….all the time! Hehe!
      Peach State

  2. I was just teasing you! Remember, we were talking about spelling and the blog yesterday? It was a joke about that conversation. Gee, Peach State, if I have to explain it, it ain’t funny…and don’t you dare say it! I know that you are thinking, “Well, it really wasn’t funny to begin with!” Ha, ha! See you tomorrow!

  3. Well, I am so excited that I have found your post because I have been searching for some info on this for almost three hours! You’ve helped me a lot indeed and by reading this story I have found many new and useful info about this subject!

Leave a Reply

