Peach State says: Where are the “Subtitles”?

20120416-064616.jpg

Can’t we skip this awful day known as Monday? I feel like I am living between the lines of a book of Murphy’s Laws! Everything that could possibly cause a problem has been squeezed into the first hour of my day….with the exceptions of my coffee! “My coffee is wonderfully warm and friendly and doesn’t make a sound!” The continuous stream of nonsensical mumblings and sound effects have begun early today! To make matters worse…it sounds like there is a group of people in the kitchen trying to redefine “Pi”! Help! “Where are the “Subtitles”?”

No lie…my youngest, who went to brush his teeth, just came downstairs and turned on the faucet at the kitchen sink and started to sing the Hallelujah Chorus! He was turning the water on and off as he said each syllable of the word. Once he finished at the sink he begins moving around the kitchen preparing the rest of his lunch. Anything that can make noise…does…as he begins the daily conversations with himself. I really cannot understand any of the sentences coming from his mouth. “Wait…nope the noisy ramblings and tapping have continued.” The topic has changed from scientific problem solving to fruit trees and blowing his stuffed morning nose. My mind does not function this fast and I have not had the chance to wake up properly this morning. Imaginary phrases put to song…well imaginary songs that he argues are real songs. “Funny…I thought I had a better understanding of music!”

A frightening raised tone interrupts the tonal tunes in the kitchen as he sees a spider on the floor. “Oh My God!…Is it alive…I don’t know…yep, it’s alive…gross…it’s crawling!” I told him to step on it! Now he is dancing…telling the spider how dead he is going to be. “At least I could understand that conversation!” Time to go to the bus stop…so with the garbage bag from the kitchen and his book bag he shuffles to the front door filling every tick of the clock with sound. The door opens and he begins wrestling his way out the door…the door closes! “Wait for it….Ahhh!” Silence! I watch him as he takes the garbage bag and waves it through the air like a flag in a battle. I then notice one of my sons left their car parked behind my husband’s car…”I wish I could send him a virtual text that would blink into his medicated dream state asking him to Pls mooove ur car!” I grab his keys off the counter and move his car.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have a bold string of words appear to translate confusing babble into a language you can understand. Better yet…and explanation bubble could appear giving you insight to the mystifying actions and sound effects. I know his mind works at the pace of a Race Car flying around the curve to the finish line. He is going so fast that the answers I give him or comments I make cannot be heard. Maybe he is wondering the same thing…“Where Are the “Subtitles”?”

20120416-075048.jpg
It would look something like a comic strip wouldn’t it? I must now try to slow my mind down…Coffee…more coffee! Maybe I will check Facebook and see if any go my friends are up!

There is a down side to the “Subtitles” concept…if these wonderful little bubbles of translations appeared people would know what we were really thinking. “Ouch!” I hate to burst the proverbial bubble but that could cause a real sticky situation. So I guess it is back to the drawing board…maybe I should write a book…”Babble Translation for Dummies!” There is only one problem…I have to understand what my son is saying. Great! I am back to where I started!

Do you have those times when you cannot understand a thing coming out of someone’s mouth?
Do you ever wonder what someone is thinking? You are not alone! Thank you for understanding and allowing me to vent! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in About me, ADHD, Blog, Childhood, Children, coffee, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, social media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. By the time I read the first line of the second paragraph, I was truly laughing out loud! Sorry, I guess you were going for sympathy! There was a little of that as well! It’s a little scary, and humbling to think that one day you are going to miss his morning routine! And no…no bubbles overhead. I would be in SO much trouble all the time…just saying…

    My stepfather is a mumbler! He gets in so much trouble with my mom for that and other things! She calls me all the time complaining about him. She is ADHD, and he is as unmotivated as a person can be. It drives her up the wall! This has been going on for 42+ years now, so I’m not expecting anything to change there! I’m sure I will laugh about this one day!

    I hope you have a peacefully day!

  2. *peaceful…my fingers are all over the keyboard this morning…

  3. Hello there: thanks for getting some time of creating up this important information. I frequently try to even further my comprehension of things. Whether I concur or disagree, I love important information. I recall the olden times when the only supply of information was the library or the newspaper. They both equally feel so out of date. Please excuse my bad grammar : )

Leave a Reply

