Peach State says: What If Wishes Came True?

20120410-070735.jpg

I remember looking out my window and wishing on the Evening Star every night as a little girl. Did those wishes ever come true? Yes…some of them! What were they? The dreams of a little who thought she needed more than she had…nope! They were dreams and wishes of love and travel…of better grades and friends to hang out with. They were normal wishes upon a star! What If Wishes Came True?

If my most elaborate wishes came true my life would definitely be different…I would have a maid and not have to clean all the time. I would have a cook…wait I like to cook! I would be a well loved and admired recording artist…well two out of three is good! I could eat anything and not have to diet! “What a girl can dream!” How about a Nanny to take care of the children so I could do all the traveling, around the world, that is required when you are a big recording artist? Speaking of elaborate wishes…Where is that Cabana Boy with my Coffee?

My wishes:

To fall in love and get marriedCame True and we will celebrate our 26th Anniversary this month. People said it would not last…people said we did not know each other long enough…”Well, we were engaged after three weeks and married after almost 12 weeks.” I guess I can see their concern now…Out of 12 weeks my then fiancé’ was serving in the military and was in the field training for a little over 6 weeks of the 12 weeks we were together. “What? I wrote letters…he still has them!” There have been times when I did not like this man I married…but I have always loved him!

To have a loving familyCame True even though there are times of strife and discord among the children when they can’t find that certain shirt or their favorite socks…and they disagree on the set bedtime! What family doesn’t have some bickering? Just because I would not take them everywhere they wanted to go and buy them whatever they wanted when they wanted it…Typical tantrums! “I am a good mother and it is unfortunate that I could not buy them a “DeathStar” or a real “Light Saber” much less let them become a “Power Ranger”! But…They would protect each other of needed and that’s what counts!

To travelCame True even though no Passport was involved…I have traveled! I have not been able to travel to Paris and see my beloved Eiffel Tower but I did see the one in Las Vegas…does that count? I have been to Hawaii and on three cruises…one of which gave me the opportunity to see extreme weather at sea. “We were in-between two hurricanes!”. It was exciting and I loved every minute of the rocking from one side to the other as the ship was tossed on the rough seas. The feeling of the wind through my hair as I dodged oncoming deck furniture is a memory not easily forgotten!

To have friendsCame True although I had to wait till my last year of High School. I just never found a circle of friends who understood my unique situation…”Okay…I was not rich…and my dad was either a teacher or principal at the school I attended…not to mention a Baptist Minister.” My group of friends grew when I moved across the country and I was in heaven. Now! Well I have written about my incredible group of friends and how they are like family. I could not have gotten this far without my friends or had as much fun drinking coffee at Starbucks without them!

Do I still wish upon that Evening Star…sometimes when I am standing on the front porch waiting for my precious princess to do her nightly duty…Yes! A childlike innocence sweeps over me as I gaze into the dark, moonlit, sky. I still have wishes and dreams…for good fortune and happiness and for the boys to experience the good things in life. I wish for my boys to be able to know what I know! Dreams and wishes come true…just not the way we think they will. I want them to realize how wonderful they are and like who they are…not prideful…but with an appreciation of self. It took me a long time to realize that! I want them to find love and have a family…”I want to spoil some grandchildren and then give them back wired and full of energy!” But not anytime soon…I am to young! Maybe in about 5-7 years they could start to get serious and consider marriage…HeHe!

I know these wishes may seem average and without vision. Trust me…wants are nice to wish for but they are not what we need. I just wanted the basics..to be loved and part of something!
I guess my grandfather was right…I am a level headed young lady!

Do You wish upon a star? What do you wish for? What If Wishes Came True? Would you be any happier with them than you are right now? I can honestly say Yes! Sorry…I was thinking about a trip to Paris…money to do whatever I wanted to do…living in paradise… “It would be wonderful until I missed home or the money ran out…or I got sunburned.” Have a great day!

Peach State

20120410-083233.jpg

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in About me, Blog, Childhood, Children, cleaning, coffee, cooking, Diet, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, memories, music, musings, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. We are on the same wavelength today. I was standing at my kitchen sink this morning speaking with God about a broken dream. Those can really hurt. But, like you, I have so much to be thankful for. Many of my dreams have come true.

    As I have shared with you in the past, I never dreamed of a career. Like you, I dreamed of love! I wanted to fall in love with a man who loved me, and have his children. Well, I met him, only he was a boy, and I was a girl at the time. Like you, but for a different reason, people said it wouldn’t last. We were TOO YOUNG!!! I was 18, and he was 19 when we married, though we were much younger when we met. We dated off and on for about four and a half years. We have now been married for 38 years! (will be 39 in August!) We are still in love, and my Mom thinks he is God-sent to our family! That’s not what she said when we were dating! Ha, ha!

    My dreams for my children haven’t been what I had hoped. One child is very responsible, but so overwhelmed. I am so proud of her! I pray for her, and try to help her whenever she needs my help. The other has major issues, and has made so many wrong choices, burning bridges as she goes. I have mourned a lot for her and because of her. But a mother’s love is unwavering. A lot of people think that means that I have to support her wrong decisions in life. That is incorrect, and not an act of love. However, I will always support her as a person, and continue to lift her up in prayer, and be there whenever she needs me. I have made my feelings known to her.

    Grandchilren…didn’t dream about them, because I was too busy to think that far ahead. But I must say…they are the best gift ever! I love, love, love being a grandmother. My husband is just as ga-ga over his grandchildren! I could gush forever on this subject, so I’ll just move on…

    I don’t like to fly, but I do like to get away with my hubby occasionally. I have traveled, but not overseas. Your description of being at sea during a storm made me a little seasick! Not sure I could handle that!

    Friends…I didn’t have a lot of friends when I was young, but I have been blessed with friends throughout the years, some who have stuck by me in such encouraging ways throughout many of life’s trials! I have also been blessed with a couple of new friends in the past couple of years, who I am very thankful for!

    You know Peachstate, you could be a famous recording artist now! You have a beautiful voice, and you know what to do with your voice, and with any song you want to sing! You make it look so easy. (picture me sticking my tongue out at you here)

    So, yes! I do still wish upon that first star whenever I see it! It reminds me of a more innocent time when the first star in the night sky seemed magical. Though I know there is no such thing as magic, which is okay with me, I like to revisit that time when I did believe that just by wishing, it could happen…

    • I was content to wish for love…my other siblings wanted the moon and everything else. Everyone of them have traveled abroad…my brother just got back from Asia.

      Thank you for your wonderful kind words about my singing…as for your tongue…right back at you!

      Can’t wait for tomorrow night!

      Have a great day!
      Peach State

  2. So glad all your dreams came true!

  3. Hi, My name is Annette. I have a question I would like to ask you and I’m wondering if you would contact me so I can ask you privately.

    • I will try and answer…privately? I can honestly say I will not publicize any discussion.

      • Inner Pathways

        Hmm… not sure if I can respond to this email that comes through your website but here goes…..

        I was wondering about one of the pictures you have on your blog. I am wondering if it’s one of your own images, if you have a copyright to it or if it comes from someone else.

        There reason I’m asking is I very much like it and I would be interested in using it as a book cover for a memoir I want to publish.

        In-Spirit Annette

      • Have just gotten home from practice and am heading to bed. Let me remind myself of the pic I used tomorrow and then I will get back with you.
        Peach State

      • Good morning…I checked my post for the picture I used. That is a picture I found online…I typed in “Wish upon a star” and then clicked images…the picture was among the images. As for copy-writes…I can’t help you there. I hope this was helpful! Good luck with you book and please wish me luck on mine…I am hoping to submit to a publisher soon. Have a great day!
        Peach State

      • Inner Pathways

        Thank you so much for your reply. I will try to check further into this picture to see if there’s any restrictions on it.

        And yes, good luck with your book and congratulations! How exciting! I would love to hear what it’s about.

        In-Spirit Annette

Leave a Reply

