Peach State says: Always Be Prepared!

20120405-063818.jpg
The silliness of the Dr. Seuss “Swiss” Knife faded after first glance. Reality of the multi-purpose extensions and their uses popped into view as a delightful explanation began to almost explode in my my brain. The humor of the tools, brought to mind in the whimsical picture, brought a smile to my face as I began to see myself as the Swiss Knife and my arms as the extensions.

There are days when everything goes right,
You go to bed and sleep at night.
But there are days when nothing is right,
Chaos galore…it’s such a sight!

On the days both good and bad,
Many things happen of this I am aware.
I hold my head up…try not to get mad,
My confidence building..Always Be Prepared!

A Plunger in one hand,
A Spatula in the other.
Life in our family band,
Someone is always calling “Mother”.

Loose screws, bolts and lugs,
I am ready for what may come.
Overflowing toilets and flying bugs.
With creative solutions…amazing for some!

Refereeing and keeping the peace,
When tempers start to balloon.
I simply pull out my special piece,
The one in the drawer..they call it a spoon!

Added features for wiping the tears,
Hold it together with tape for the duct.
A helping hand and listening ears,
Together we will maneuver the muck!

The young ones are now older
And help others…I’m glad.
They’ve become great extensions
Of mom and of dad!

The tricks to get through
The toughest of days,
They can now move
Through life’s chaotic maze.

There are days when everything goes right,
You go to bed and sleep at night.
But there are days when nothing is right,
Chaos galore…it’s such a sight!

On the days both good and bad,
Many things happen…your heart may tear
Just hold your head up…try not to get mad
Your confidence building..Always Be Prepared!

This was inspired when I saw the picture above. The arms of a mother are often varied in reach and in job. We are wiping noses and giving medicine while doing homework with and cooking dinner with another. You may think so this concept as silly…but it is true. Mothers multitask without knowing it…it is second nature! We find solutions to life’s interruptions while trying to maintain a calm existence. When we adopted our youngest the older boys were well on their way to helping others. He did not understand how they could help much less why! If it is broken he thought it was thrown away. We have been trying to teach him some things can be fixed. Storms would down trees and cause damage…the boys were there helping make repairs. Carpentry..tiling…most home installations have been performed by my husband and the boys if not just the boys. “I hope they leave me their number when they move out…I need a cheap repairman!”

If things don’t work right…I am always there with suggestions and how-to advice. This knowledge comes from growing up doing household renovations with my dad. I started off holding the directions for my dad…then learned to read them so he could focus on the task. We installed windows along the back of the house as a family…”It was interesting at first but then we got the hang of it.” We have to be flexible…in time, need and importance. The teaching or passing down of this knowledge is essential and becoming a lost art. The skills I learned from my parents I have been passing down to my sons. My husband has taught them to work on cars…so brakes and alternator repairs are easy repairs for them. They know how to shop wisely and often look for the best deal for the money. The years ahead will be filled with trials and financial difficulties. As parents we must prepare our children so that they can function and succeed in the years ahead of them.

The boys saw their list of chores as punishments and ridiculous waste of time when they were younger. They have started seeing how the simple concepts have prepared them to function as adults. “I was beginning to worry!” The independent spirit of “Do-It-Yourself” has grabbed hold of my the three oldest. One is a Watch Repairman and works full time…another is a Landscaper and Handyman which keeps him relatively busy. My oldest…he is learning to stand on his own…remembering all we taught him and finally using this knowledge. They each have special abilities and strengths that will be needed.

Consider for a moment the historical concept of community. You had certain people you went to for a particular need. Blacksmiths for shoeing a horse…seamstress for the making of clothes…butcher for meat…etc… The ability to lay tile and flooring, take down a wall or build a wall, design a yard and maintain a yard, take apart and repair a watch, build and rebuild computers…these are just a few of the abilities my sons have learned and boy…has it come in handy! The Swiss Army Knife has many different uses in one handy package. It is ready to help and assist at the drop of the hat. Simply pull out the extension and proceed with your job. The boys usually had their knives with them…”Close your mouth…they are slightly redneck southern boys!” If something needed cut or resized…”Here Mom..I got it!” they became one of my extensions in my Swiss Army Knife.

We all have strengths and weaknesses…you just need to know who to call for their strength when you are weak. Be Prepared in the little things and the larger, out of control situations will be controllable. Basic skills are the foundation! The ability to do more than one thing at a time gives you eyes to see a bigger and brighter picture. We must learn to Always Be Prepared!

I apologize for any bragging or self-absorbed speeches. I just found myself caught up in the swirl surrounding the concept of the Swiss Army Knife and felt like every device was being pulled out to use at the same time. “Kinda reminds me of the hectic pace in our family!”

I hope you read this and find something you can take away with you…even if it is just a smile or two!
Have a great day!

Peach State

Posted on April 5, 2012, in About me, Blog, Childhood, Children, cleaning, cooking, family, friends, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, Poem, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Love the poem! The picture fits it perfectly! Gotta love Dr. Suess! I love the picture in my mind of the parent or grandparent teaching the child, passing down their own skills and knowledge. I experienced some of that with my grandparents.

    But, I mostly relate to the chaos! Yes, my life is chaotic at best! But, like Peachstate, I have my handy-dandy pocket knife of coping skills, including prioritizing, and ignoring! Everything in between is for practical application…

    Good job of organizing the chaos enough to write this blog…and the poem! I already have your number, but I may need to put it on speed dial…

  2. You have inspired me to write about cousins. Thank you for jogging memories long forgotten.

  3. Okay. Clearly this machine is how the gamillion Easter eggs ended up on the tree in the photo of the cute little girl 🙂 Easy peasy.

Leave a Reply

