Peach State says: Mornin’ Glory!

20120403-065109.jpg

A vivid group of memories, from my childhood, came rushing to the forefront of my first moments of conscience this morning. It was a sound that triggered the initial flash…a dog was barking…”No! It’s to early!…What is that sound?” I stopped and turned my ear towards the window closing out the sound of my pounding heart. There is it…FLASH!

“Do you see it up on that branch?” I was standing next to my grandfather in the backyard of his little house outside Birmingham. I was looking up at a large bird with round yellowish eyes…it was the biggest owl I had ever see. The forlorn sound coming from this magnificent bird was unlike any I had ever heard. My grandfather just smiled…”He is saying “Mornin’ Glory!“…”Really?”…”He likes the color of your eyes too!” My grandfather said my eyes were as blue as the Morning Glories in his yard. I was about 6 years old!

This flood of aged memories continued as I reached for my mug to fill it up with my first taste of coffee of the day. My grandfather had a green recliner with a striped pattern down the center. A small table sat next to it with a lamp behind it. He loved his morning coffee too and sipped on it as the scent of breakfast floated through the house…the clanking of the skillet on old gas stove, as my grandmother cooked, was soon met with the voices of my parents looking for me. “She’s with me!” my grandfather said…”We were up early today!” I chuckle to myself this morning as I remember that statement. Was it the fact that I got up to early and my grandparents heard me and got up…or were they already up?

I can remember the items next to his chair…he had a pipe stand with two pipes and a container with his pipe tobacco in it. There was a book…a first reader from his childhood that I learn to read while sitting in his lap…and a doll…a troll doll with yellow hair. The many hours of reading and playing with that fuzzy headed doll were filled with so much love.

20120403-072403.jpg

I keep these memories in a very special place in my heart. The book is in my office next to my desk. The troll doll got lost during a move. I still have blue eyes…and still love Morning Glories…but no one has greeted me by saying “Mornin’ Glory!” since my grandfather passed away. I was 11 years old!

Thank you Mister Owl for giving me these wonderful memories this morning! It was if my grandfather was wishing me a good day and whispering “Mornin’ Glory!”
I think I will try to find some Morning Glories to plant in my yard. Have a great day!

Peach State

Posted on April 3, 2012, in About me, Blog, Childhood, Children, coffee, family, Food, gardening, Home, Just Between Cousins, memories, musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful post of your precious memories…thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

