Peach State says: It’s Not a Typical Saturday!

20120331-071051.jpg

As I sit here, in the dimly lit room, gentle reminders of my day invade like shadows flowing over the grassy meadow. This day is way outside the box in the realm of our normal Saturday activities. There will be no yard work today! There will be no major cleaning! We are all going in different directions…except for my youngest…he will be with me! It’s Not a Typical Saturday!

Everything started normally with morning coffee and visiting of Facebook and emails. “Yes I checked my blog stats too!” I prepared my husbands breakfast and latte and took it to his office. This is when my day changed…my 18 year old, who is typically up around 8:45am on Saturdays, was up and getting ready for his day. “Oh yeah! He has the walk today!” He is helping his girlfriend with her Senior Project…a fundraiser for a Wounded Soldier! I am very proud of my son and his girlfriend for taking this on! Anything for our service men and women!
When he finishes with the fundraiser he will be going to a community function and volunteering there. It is an Easter Egg Hunt and usually has over 200 children attend…not to mention parents.

My oldest is moving today…He is relocating to another apartment on the other side of the state. He seems very excited at the direction his life is going. I can only give him advice and pray for him!

My 21 year old and my husband are off to their jobs…Me on the other hand am headed out of town today! It’s Not a Typical Saturday!

I mentioned earlier this week about the conflicting schedule commitments…Well arrangements made were changed and I am headed about two hours south…for the funeral of a dear family friend.
He and his family have been part of my family since I was 17 years old. The recent struggles, of this sweet spirit, were numerous as the doctors tried to fix one problem only to find others lurking below the surface. His health diminished quickly and the family began to prepare for the worse.
This will be a “home going” funeral. We have all been touched and will miss him. This will be a bittersweet reunion of family and friends.

This man and his family have been involved in most of our family celebrations. My baby sister and the daughter of this man resemble Siamese twins separated at birth. I have fond memories of this large, teddy bear like man meeting me at the door of my old church. His arms were open wide…not to hug me but to take the precious cargo I had in my arms. I had moved to Washington State and not been home in quite a few years. I had come home and had my first born with me. “He is mine…give him over…don’t worry he won’t be passed around…he will stay with me!” I just smiled knowing this gentle giant wanted to be the first to hold him and would not share! He was this way with each of my sons…meeting me at the door in silly anticipation. As the boys have grown…they have still maintained a relationship of sorts with this sweet man and his family. When I told the boys of his passing…a quietness settled and voices quivered. Disbelief and the typical questions for those affected followed. My boys have not experienced death this close except twice. They have been aware of other losses but not influenced directly. It’s Not a Typical Saturday!

I must go get started…a lot to do in and hour and a half! I will head out and arrive early at the little church. The family will be gathering before the service. There will be many familiar faces quick to give a hug with tear filled Kleenex in hand. This is the third funeral (Home Going’) I have been to this month.

Take care of those important people in your life…and have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 31, 2012, in About me, Blog, Childhood, Children, cleaning, coffee, faith, family, friends, Just Between Cousins, memories, music, musings, parenting, social media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like anyone who knew your “gentle giant” friend was experiencing favor from our Heavenly Father! I am keeping you, your boys and this family in prayer today. It’s hard to experience this kind of loss. It leaves such a huge void in your life. Yet, it is so comforting to know that he is experiencing the joy of being in the very presence of God…face to face with our Savior! Drive safely…see you tomorrow…

  2. I’m sorry to read of your loss.

  3. certainly like your web site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the truth then again I’ll definitely come back again.

    • I am sorry to hear of the misspellings. I do my best to keep them to a minimum! I do find that I write as I speak…meaning…with a Southern drawl! I apologize for writing this way…
      Come back for a visit!
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

