Peach State says: My Recurring Patterns?

20120330-073235.jpg

Today is Friday and I found myself not thinking about Current Events. Instead I found myself going through a preset, habit formed, group of functions. I find it curiously comforting as I take a closer look at this routine. There are differences…but only slight ones…with interruptions thrown in!
The endless spiral of events, that connect my actions as I flow through the daily motions, are structurally needed. You will probably notice a similar pattern in your own life. So…here is My Recurring Patterns!

Alarm off
Put on fuzzy socks
Head for the coffee pot
Check Facebook
Check Chat
Check email
Check Swagbucks
Check Blog
Respond to early risers on Facebook messenger or text
Fix lattes and breakfast
Training of 11 year old on correct behavior
Check blog
Check Facebook
Start laundry
Load or unload dishwasher
11 year old to bus stop
Start the daily blog
Pour coffee in travel cup for husband
Continue blogging
Respond to messages and text
Complete blog post for the day
Check Facebook
Conversations with friends
Move laundry
General cleaning
Check blog stats
Get other two sons out the door for the day
Fix another latte
Check Facebook
Play music (sometimes to learn music)
Focused cleaning
Move laundry and fold clothes
Respond to texts
Check blog stats
Plan dinner
Move or fold laundry
Check blog
Check email
Help with homework as I cook dinner…

By now you are sitting there shaking your head…don’t be to quick to judge! You have your patterns too! This list would be far shorter and would not be filled with check blog and Facebook if it weren’t for convenience of my type of phone and iPad. They are always with me and I can quickly maneuver the familiar apps and pages with little time spent. The delightfully unique and personalized chimes and tones associated with each notification add music to my day and keep me updated as I move through the average housekeeping duties. At the push of a button I can be instantly aware of Facebook changes and texts as well any calls I may have not been able to answer. “I am actually doing things that cause me to miss phone calls…or texts!”

I must confess that the act of checking my blog stats has been filled with excitement and anticipation. I was thrilled this past week to find my daily blog post listed as a “Featured Post”! I surpassed the previous records this week and just can’t help but watch the numbers increase each time I check the stats.

“I would like to thank each of you for your likes and views…and those of you who now follow this Blog…you put a smile on my face and brighten my day!”

My daily life, as average as it is, contains many out of the ordinary tasks. The adoption of a Special Needs child, the economic upheaval with our family owned small business, the activities surrounding my singing in various groups as well as the continued ups and downs of life, as experienced by my three older sons, are the center of my structurally routine existence. I may not conquer the business world or find a cure for disease but, I am happy! “I have my low points just like everyone…yet…I am at peace in my little corner of the world!”

We each have those habits and ways of doing things as we go through our day. From the morning wake up call to the setting of the alarm at bedtime we are engaging in the same routines as we care for our families. The order may be different but there is a pattern…a general consistent flow…that is the basis of you daily scheduled life. We may not consider the little routines as important but we would be wrong! These little connections with family and friends keep us current and offer us an emotional boost as we continue through our pre-set day. This satisfies the basic need of belonging…we all want to be part of something!

Consider your day to the smallest activity. What do you find yourself doing when there is a pause in your schedule? I would make a guess you are just like me! It is now time to recheck my Facebook and catch up with those who are now starting their day. I hope all of the status updates are good for you and yours today! I am off to follow My Recurring Pattern!

Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in About me, Blog, Children, cleaning, coffee, family, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, parenting, social media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m doing way too much ‘checking’ each day. I need a lock on all my social media that only allows me to check once a day during a thirty minute window.

    • i don’t know if this constant checking is a habit or actual brain firing need. I just count myself lucky that I am not being charged for the times I check and interact during the day! Thanks for your comment!
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

