Peach State says: It’s One of Those Days…I Need More Coffee!

20120329-070029.jpg

First things first…I thrive when I am busy…but there are days I would love to crawl under the covers and sleep for a few more days. It is not because I am tired or not feeling well…I just have to make a big decision on top of having a busy, errand running day! It’s One of Those Days…I Need More Coffee!

My To-Do list is not that complicated…it has the normal schedule of up in the morning, drink some coffee, get my son off to the bus, drink some coffee, get husband out the door to work, drink some coffee…well you know the routine! I will need to do a more thorough cleaning than usual today…best get started when they leave. It’s One of Those Days…I Need More Coffee!

My son has another doctor’s appointment today at 3:00. This is a good thing because I have been trying to get his medicine changed and you have to have a new appointment for this. The only opening was at the end of April so I got lucky! I will need to either have dinner just about ready or need to make a zappit dinner. Oh great! “What’s for dinner?” At 6:30 two dear friends are coming over…not to visit although it will be a time filled with laughter and fun. We sing together on a trio and have to get some songs ready for a civic event. One of my friends may come by early and have…you guessed it…coffee. “It will be in the form of a latte’!”

See…it is not that bad of a day…but!

A sweet friend of mine is getting married on Saturday at 11am. The wedding is about 2 hours north.
And a dear friend of the my family died and his funeral is Saturday at 12:30. The funeral is in my hometown about 2 hours south. I have know this friend since I was 17 years old…so a long…long..(okay you get the idea) time. My friend who is getting married I have know for about 10 years but have only been good friends for about 3 years. What to do?

I am really torn and know my family would rather I attend the funeral.

I was asked last night if I was going to the wedding and I said yes…then saw the funeral was pretty much at the same time and in the opposite direction. No way I could attend both services. I guess I will have to weigh the decision and do what any good person would do…drink more coffee and wait for certain key influences to wake up so I can seek their advice. “What do you think about that solution?”

My husband is almost ready to leave…I can hear his shoes clicking as he crosses the floor upstairs. My day is planned for me and I have a plate full of fun-filled hours of activity. Spring Break is next week and my 18 year old turn 19 on Easter…along with all of the singing and songs to be learned…but those stories and details will be saved till next week.

Yesterday I told you I would give out the recipe chosen for the cookbook!
The Hashbrown Casserole recipe was asked about. I do not think I will use this one in the cookbook but I will give it out now!

1 bag of frozen shredded hashbrowns
1 package of diced ham (of course you can cut up ham if you have some leftover)
1 bag of shredded cheese ( I use Sharp Cheddar but if there is another flavor you like…use it! Swiss is good but my boys like “the orange cheese” better!)
1 medium onion finely chopped
1/2 cup if butter or 1stick sliced

Brown ham in skillet and add onions…remove from heat

Layer the hashbrowns in the bottom of your greased dish and salt (like you are adding salt at the table…not to much! ) spread ham mixture over the hashbrowns. Sprinkle cheese over the ham and repeat the layers. (I usually have 2 layers of each ingredient)
Place the remaining cheese on top and add the slices of butter over the top.
Bake until hashbrowns are cooked and done.
I have found that I can save time using the microwave to cook the dish then add the final layer of cheese and brown in the oven.
Serve with a salad and bread of choice!

I am just about done with my cranberry oatmeal and will start my cleaning day in the kitchen.
It’s One of Those Days…I Need More Coffee “At least I know I can and will get a lot accomplished and won’t have much to do tomorrow. Have a great day!

Peach State

20120329-081044.jpg

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in About me, Children, cleaning, cooking, family, friends, Humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the hashbrown casserole recipe! I agree with your boys…I like the orange cheese better in this casserole. Wish the choice was that simple concerning whether you go to the wedding or the funeral. That is not an easy choice. Sounds like you have a full day…I hope it’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

