Peach State says: Solitary Reflections

20120324-064511.jpg

This week has been a blur of movement and activity. Things have been accomplished and others have been added to the growing stack for this next week. Oh the joys of motherhood! For the first time, in my life as a mother, I find that my schedule does not revolve around the boys! WOW! When did this happen? They come and go as they respond to my well wishes for the day. I smile and proceed with my day…the ever present chores…conversations with friends…planning of dinner.
The head count for dinner seems to float between 3-5 instead of the original 6 mouths to feed. Thinking and reacting on my feet with a “shoot from the hip” mentality! Solitary Reflections!

I have been gone several nights, myself, this week. Of course this is due to our Easter Musical practices. Today is the last practice…what will I do next week? “Trio practices!” One of the trios that I am on has been asked to sing at a type of civic meeting. They meet throughout the month and would like to have music as a part of their meetings. This means the learning of new music and practices to organize. But that is next week and I don’t need to worry about that right now. My life is a consistent symphony, of sorts, with dramatic emotional transitions. I find contentment in my small corner of the world.

My grandmother celebrated another birthday yesterday and some members of the family will gather with her today. I wish I could have been able to attend…I did not know about it in time to try and make arrangements. But I do have practice today! I will miss spending this special day with my grandmother. She is in her mid-nineties and may not even know I am not there. I still miss her! She is one of my greatest inspirations and examples in my life. Her grace and wisdom overflowed into my life and for this I will be eternally thankful. I find myself thinking of her as statements and movements surface through me. The simple pleasures in life…beauty in the garden…love of the beach…walking…picnics… We are really alike in so many ways! I miss our talks and time together!

This next week begins a flurry of review for my youngest. They are getting ready for the series of standardized tests. I put him in a Saturday program to assist in this preparation. The school promptly cancelled one session because of two county-wide required furlough days for teachers. They got Thursday and Friday off and did not want to come back for a 3 hour session on Saturday. Can you really blame them? My son will not be able to attend today’s session because I cannot guarantee the availability of a ride home at the needed time. Sooo…he goes with me!

I was used to taking the boys with me to my extra practices. It was our way of life. It was the way I was raised and what I was used to! I guess I am thankful for the extra practices for the main fact that it gets me out of the house. I find myself a home-body of sorts. Not by choice but by necessity. I have accepted this flaw in my life and even embrace it from time to time. I have been invited to participate in group functions and had to turn them down for several reasons. No one to watch our youngest, economic deficiencies, and the wishes of my husband. I guess I am a unique and complicated person! Everyone else finds a way and seems to do whatever they want to do! They gather at peoples houses and share meals or go out together. I am never invited to those activities. “I resolve to do for my family and be there even when not needed.” Now that is a mouth full!

I have been able to see the change in seasons in dramatic ways this week. If you have watched the news our state reached record high levels in pollen counts this week. With pollen comes new growth…blooms of color and explosions of green fill the landscape. We had some rain which washed some of the yellow haze away…but another burst of spring followed the rain. The fluffy white blossoms have blown away in the breezes, creating a flurry of petals. Green leaves appeared as the trees begin to take on their full refreshed appearance.

It has been a good week all in all. I count myself blessed and look forward to what this next week will bring. You know…grocery shopping, loading and unloading of the groceries, normal daily activities with an assortment of daily challenges to overcome. I am ready! “Are you?”

I look forward to sharing the funny and humorous parts of my life this next week. For now I will close and start getting ready for practice. I will drink in the morning…what I have left of it…as I finish my coffee. I should text a friend of mine to pick up a coffee for me as he goes thought he drive thru at Starbucks. “He owes me!” I will get to see my dearest of friends and spend the good part of the morning with them and most of the day tomorrow. What a way to spend the weekend!

What are your plans for the weekend? Did you have a fulfilling week? Take a moment and consider your Solitary Reflections!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 24, 2012, in About me, Childhood, coffee, family, friends, humor, Just Between Cousins, memories, music, musings, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You know it was a busy week for me! Plus, with all the beauty the pollen brought, came the allergies which had me feeling poorly! Most of that is better. Super busy day yesterday.

    Up way too early on a Saturday today to work on Easter musical solo. I’m back to relearning not to sing with my southern drawl, as it tends to bend a few tones, and apparently no one can understand what I’m singing…really? 90% of them are southern AND country! LOL! They hear me loud and clear! But seriously, I feel very blessed to get what amounted to free vocal training from the best coach possible! He did remind me a bit (once or twice ) of my drill sergeant from my army basic training days, but it got results! LOL! Again…I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON!

    Then to choir practice. I love being a part of that choir! I love my church!

    Afterward, to Brianna’s birthday party. It was fun! All my grandchildren were there, and I enjoyed them so much! After the cake, my husband and I left to purchase parts for the lawn mower. We had to go in my car because his truck is also broken down. When we came home, I layed down, and was asleep when my head hit the pillow. A short, but much needed nap. Billy has repaired the mower, and cut the grass.

    I am excited about tomorrow. The Easter musical tells the story so beautifully! I want to do my best, so I continue practicing how to properly pronounce certain sounds while singing. Hopefully, all, if not most of it will start to feel natural, instead of foreign, so I can just relax and sing to my Lord tomorrow. I am so thankful for my Savior! He is risen, and is alive!

  2. Thank you, Peachstate!

  3. Greeting from over the sea. precise article I must return for more.

Leave a Reply

