Peach State says: Middle Class Humor and Current Events

20120323-063704.jpg

My husband and I went to do a few errands, yesterday, on his day off. Fox News had been talking about the overnight jump in gas prices in Ohio…we did not know it was here in Georgia too! We drove into the gas station and the price had jumped 15 cents. He laughed and said “I guess I should have filled up last night when it was $3.63 a gallon!” The numbers began to spin around as if possessed! Click! My husband got back into the car…”Well at least I am no longer driving the truck!” It would be way over $75 to fill up and he uses almost two tanks per week. At least we have Middle Class Humor and Current Events!

I guess his stomach was growling because he asked where I would like to eat. We decided on trying out the new Panera Bread restaurant. We ordered conservatively: 2 sandwiches with chips, 1 orange juice and one water, and 2 cinnamon rolls. One of the cinnamon rolls was 99 cents! “They were for his dessert later that night.” The red flashing lights streaming from the register should have told us to run…”That will be $21….” My husband handed the girl, behind the register, the money as he choked back his shock and surprise. As we found a seat he looked at me and said $21…!” We were offered a free pastry due to slow service and my husband told me to select a pastry. “If we are going to pay this much for a meal we might as well get all we can!” We enjoyed our meal and time together.

We left and were headed to the local home improvement store to buy lightbulbs. We were driving down the road and headlines became the topic of conversation. They were not just any headlines…well you will see.

*In Lieu of a Summer Trip We Bought a Tank of Gas and Lunch at Panera Bread!

*Cost of Gas and Lunch Bankrupt Family!

*Who Needs Lightbulbs Anyway?

*Family Vacations at Local Gas Station!

*Vacation Destinations Now Include Gas and Grocery Stores!

I see families taking vacations and talking about their vacations on Facebook. They are going camping or visiting Disney and the some head to the beach. I would love to go to the beach house. It is relatively inexpensive except for the gas. I guess we just prioritize differently. A friend posted a picture on Facebook and well it gives us a good laugh…but could it be a true statement?

20120323-073127.jpg

Our boys are learning how to repair their vehicles themselves…they shop around for the best prices and replace the brakes and most recently an alternator. My 21 year old saved over $150 by replacing the brakes on his truck with his brother. “I think my husband may have supervised!”
My 18 year old had to replace his alternator this week and was immediately on the phone to the auto parts stores comparing prices. “I must have done something right!” I came home from church that night to see my sons under the hood with grease ridden faces and hands…and they were googling the how to guide. It took them several hours but they did it…and saved more money. After cleaning up they collapsed, proud in their accomplishment, and still had greasy faces.

I am old enough to remember my parents complaining about gas prices…I remember complaining about higher gas prices and the cost of living…and now…well we try not complain. We just make jokes! If we can’t laugh about our situation we will get more upset and stress out. We have enough stress today without fighting over the cost of gas. Cut back on trips…combines errands…do it yourself repairs…and don’t forget the lightbulbs while you’re out! Middle Class Humor and Current Events!

The politicians of our nation don’t feel the pinch in the wallet. They do not see the soaring prices the way we do. They campaign on the issues and against each other. If one comes up with a plan another will tear it down. Campaign promises are made and forgotten. They get back on their fancy buses and planes and move on to the next campaign stop. Maybe they do feel the pinch…with all the money they are spending for fuel they can’t afford the commercial air time!

Creative spending not splurging is the norm in our house. Oh..wait…I do splurge! I got a coffee at Starbucks the other day…with a free e-card! “I was worried for a second!” I have found that when I buy my “ginormous” (giant and enormous smashed together) bag of espresso beans I will get a free coffee…I earn Swagbucks and get e-gift cards for Starbucks…I love free Starbucks! Shopping wisely, cutting back, and finding deals are the way we live now. We sacrifice in ways to make ends meet! “Soap is soap…right?” I no longer get my specialty hand soaps with fragrances and colors for each sink in the house. Refillable soap decanters and over-sized containers of plain liquid soap will have to suffice. We all do our part!

Have your and your family made changes in how you spend? Have you changed the way you drive or the number of trips you make? Do you cut out coupons and pay attention to the prices? Do you get excited when you save money? Do you have or find Middle Class Humor in today’s Current Events? Please send me your money saving ideas and techniques! We need to help each other…after all…we all will need lightbulbs eventually!
Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in About me, beach house, Childhood, coffee, faith, family, Food, friends, humor, Just Between Cousins, memories, musings, parenting, social media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I don’t know how much more we can cut back. My husband has always worked on our cars. He telecommutes, and that helps a lot! I do go a lot in my car. I’ll be making two trips to Canton and back early today! We do still eat out more than we should, but that is for convience more than anything. Our goverment needs to put a stop to it. This wouldn’t be happening if we had leaders who cared, and who knew what they were doing. Okay, that’s enough about that. I have to go get ready for my first trip to Canton…

  2. Great Post. I am in Canada, and it’s the same. We try to cut back, grab stuff when it’s on sale, and thank goodness we rarely drive. My husband takes city transit, so the car is just for errands with the kids. We probably fill up once a month. Yes I have to admit , I have changed laudry detergent šŸ˜¦ but still buy my favorite once in awhile;) I guess we are all in this together and if you don’t want to cry, you might as well laugh your way through!

    • Thank you for the comments. Unfortunately my husband works an hour away and no public transit is available to that area. We really are lucky that we don’t have to travel to far for necessities and our trips can be tied into the boys routes coming home. Lol. Their gas not mine. Laugh when I can.
      Peach State

  3. This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. Your web site does not render correctly on my apple iphone ā€“ you might wanna try and repair that.

Leave a Reply

